Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-02-2016, 12:41 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 311
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post
Kyle, first let me thank you for taking the time to answer these questions in this thread and the others.

I've held off upgrading my Artist Control/Mix units to the latest Eucon release because I don't want to give up the Pro Tool mix window auto-scrolling with my bank left/right selections on the Artist Mix. This function currently works with 12.5 and the Artist units on the older Eucon.

I haven't had time to study your detailed explanation, but my simple question is if I upgrade to the latest Eucon will the Pro Tools mix window still follow the bank left/right buttons on the Artist Mix?

I'd really like to upgrade for the new surround panner but have been holding off.

Andy
No problem. The answer is yes, but make sure you have the prefs mentioned above enabled.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-02-2016, 12:42 PM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
No problem. The answer is yes, but make sure you have the prefs mentioned above enabled.
Will do and thank you again. I'll update tonight...

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-02-2016, 02:02 PM
ThomasHQ ThomasHQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Hi! I also want to thank you, Kyle, for taking your time to expain why we briefly had that feature working.

I must admit that I really liked that accindental feature, because it made things work exactly how I like it to work. But maybe that is because I never used the "Auto bank to selected track" in the Eucontrol settings.
I've always been using layouts to populate my 2 MC Mix. Layout one being track 1-16, layout 2 being track 17-32 and so on, instead of using the bank buttons to bank 4 track at the time (as I also have an MC Control)

A new feature in Prefences, as you mentioned, " Edit/Mix window follows attentioned track" is, as far as I can see, exactly what I'm looking for. If it is possible to keep the edit/mix window from jumping back and forth if the attentioned track is already in view, that would be great. But I think that I prefer the windows jumping around rather than not having the attentioned track in view at all!

Best regards,
Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-03-2016, 01:29 PM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Just to follow-up on 3.4, the mix window followed the bank left/right Artist Mix buttons perfectly. Very pleased.

I don't like the edit window to follow banking, so that has remained disabled.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-03-2016, 05:37 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Quote:
Originally Posted by alk3997 View Post
Just to follow-up on 3.4, the mix window followed the bank left/right Artist Mix buttons perfectly. Very pleased.

I don't like the edit window to follow banking, so that has remained disabled.
I'm a bit confused by all the back and forth, can you let me know what settings you used to achieve this? I've held off updating because I can't lose this feature. Lik you, I wish to have the mix window follow banking on the artist mix, but not the edit window.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-04-2016, 12:12 AM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 311
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I'm a bit confused by all the back and forth, can you let me know what settings you used to achieve this? I've held off updating because I can't lose this feature. Lik you, I wish to have the mix window follow banking on the artist mix, but not the edit window.
Just do this:
1. Pro Tools>Preferences>Mixing>Controllers - Enable "Mix window follows bank selection"
2. In EuControl Settings>General - Enable “Auto Bank to Selected Track”
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:23 AM
ThomasHQ ThomasHQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 33
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

I'm sorry if the name of this thread caused any confusion. I was just so happy that, with the 3.3.2 update, things finally started working like I've always wanted it to! And equally frustrated by the loss of that feature in 3.4.

I see that the edit/mix wondows follows bank selection when using the left/right bank buttons, I just never use them for scrolling around my session. I find that using layouts are more efficient. This is a way of working I started using in Logic 9, where it worked just fine btw, before switching to PT.
With a 100+ tracks, it gets to be a whole lot of button pushing to move around the session with just four tracks banking at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-09-2017, 04:27 AM
glennaudio glennaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 116
Default Re: Edit/Mix window follows bank selection broken…again??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Just do this:
1. Pro Tools>Preferences>Mixing>Controllers - Enable "Mix window follows bank selection"
2. In EuControl Settings>General - Enable “Auto Bank to Selected Track”
To add to this, there is a switch for "App banks DAW" that needs to be on. It's found within the Pro Tools | Control App at the top right (cog wheel)....only took me 48 hours of research to find
__________________
MacPro 5,1: 12-core 2.93 GHz 48GB RAM OS X 10.12.2 | Pro Tools HDNative 12.7.1 | HD I/O 8x8x8 | UA 4-710D | Avalon VT737 | Waves Diamond | Komplete 12 Ultimate Collector's | Kontrol S61 | Maschine Studio | Eleven Rack | Pro Tools Control w/ 9.7" iPad Pro | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit/Mix follows bank selection broken…again?? ThomasHQ Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 05-15-2016 05:40 AM
Edit/mix window follows bank selection brandonc23 Pro Tools 12 0 02-20-2016 11:59 AM
Edit/Mix Window Follows Bank Selection maxtn Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 14 04-06-2015 06:30 PM
edit/mix window follows bank selection Eucon/PT9? engininja Artist Series 47 11-23-2014 10:42 PM
Edit Window Follows Bank Selection. Edit Window Follows Bank Selection. Edit Window.. Focuret Artist Series 17 01-18-2014 04:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com