Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2018, 01:58 PM
aidanavey aidanavey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 8
Default Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Hi guys,

My macbook has finally given up the ghost and due to me not being able to afford to replace it, i've decided to go down the PC Laptop route. The PC i'm looking at is the HP Pavilion Power 15 https://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/compu...64666-pdt.html

This is my first venture back into the world of Windows laptops since roughly 2010 so I just wanted to run this past you guys and see what you think? Do you think it would run PT2018 okay? It seems to hit the specs required on the PT website?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2018, 07:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,972
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Hopefully, someone knows if that PC will work. Store-bought PC's(especially laptops) are a crapshoot for Pro Tools. What about a used or refurbed MBP?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2018, 10:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,345
Default Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Yep if your a gambling man, go for it.

My 2012 MBP runs FW and TB and PT just fine......


Store bought you just never know, you might get lucky and you might just want to throw it in the trash.....


You want a top of the line machine - spend the money a get the good stuff
Performance parts will perform better.

Spend the money on an i7 highest speed you can afford don’t bother with an i5 you will just wish you had more power later

I don’t like the idea of companies putting HDD spinners in laptops these days- NVME drives are where the tech is at.....not SSD’s (nand) but NVME drives....

GPU looks good on that one and the Ram is DDR4 which is good also
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2018, 12:09 AM
SigFriedChicken's Avatar
SigFriedChicken SigFriedChicken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 318
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

The model in that link shows 8GB. I don't think PT2018 runs well on less than 16GB, right?
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | OS X High Sierra | RME
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2018, 04:08 AM
aidanavey aidanavey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 8
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigFriedChicken View Post
The model in that link shows 8GB. I don't think PT2018 runs well on less than 16GB, right?
Yeah I saw that, I run PT18 on my macbook which is only 8gb and it seems to work fine, a little slow on bigger projects but, to be honest, these days I don't tend to run too many large projects as music production is a more of a hobby these days, sadly.

Came across this online as well http://www.argos.co.uk/product/8089638

Again, only 8GB but it's a reasonable price and all other specs seems decent.

Edit:

I think i'm actually going to spend some extra money and get this https://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/compu...74166-pdt.html

Seems to tick all the boxes necessary for running pro tools and for an extra £200 to not have to worry about PT2018 slowing down it seems a no-brainer.

Last edited by aidanavey; 07-15-2018 at 04:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2018, 06:27 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

It's going to be a guess.. Who knows, it just may.. or may not..

My friend has a HP 17" workstation laptop with quadro GPU and pro tools runs wonderfully, but they are more expensive.

I am still stuck myself on whether to go to windows.. haven't been able to decide for 6 months now! Hope it all works out for you!

I do know the low buffer performance of PT on windows is WAY better than mac.. A friend even made a detailed video for me.. at 64 buffer, the core spread on windows is SO much better
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-16-2018, 07:37 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,548
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
...Store-bought PC's(especially laptops) are a crapshoot for Pro Tools...
Maybe I just got lucky? A few years ago I bought a 17" HP laptop with an i7 quad processor and Win 7 Pro. I took the time to research/uninstall ALL bloatware, killed most startup items, and did all Avid recommended Windows tweaks. No issues running PTools 9; still a stable rig !!!
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X 3.9 GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link

Last edited by EGS; 07-17-2018 at 07:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2018, 07:44 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,548
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidanavey View Post
... The PC i'm looking at is the HP Pavilion Power 15 https://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/compu...64666-pdt.html...
That one is an i5 with 8GB ram ---> get an i7 or i9 quad or hex, with 16 or 32GB ram.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X 3.9 GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2018, 10:55 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 261
Default Re: Will this HP Pavilion run PT2018?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
I am still stuck myself on whether to go to windows.. haven't been able to decide for 6 months now! Hope it all works out for you!

I do know the low buffer performance of PT on windows is WAY better than mac.. A friend even made a detailed video for me.. at 64 buffer, the core spread on windows is SO much better
I just made the switch after being a mac user for 15 years. The last 5 of them spent on a Hackintosh. I got tired of seemingly small innocuous updates tanking my video drivers, and the sometimes arduous process of upgrading the OS - sometimes it would be smooth sailing and others ended up being a PITA.

I'm only 12 days into my post OS X/Win 10 experience, and things have been stable, and more importantly, I'm finding Win 10, overall, to not be that bad.

I didn't expect there to be many issues, after all, a nice PC with quality components was underneath the hacked OS X all along.

The biggest problem I encountered was wth the Native Instruments online installer. It downloads ISO files, and to my understanding, MS broke something last year, making (some) ISO unmountable. After some research, a simple archive program allowed me to open the ISO's and install them manually. That's been the only hiccup.

The program Mac Drive has been invaluable and helped make the transition seamless. I have 15 years of data on mac formatted drives.

Plugins that used to crash my Hack are running just fine, which begs the question - would those plugins have been problematic on genuine Apple hardware? I don't know. What I do know is, so far, so good on my PC, and that's all that matters. My Sierra install was becoming problematic, so I knew it was just a matter of time. I began planning my switch several months ago, and once Sierra finally crapped out, and wouldn't boot, I bought a new M.2 SSD drive and went for it.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / KeyLab49 / Pro Tools 2018.4 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4 / Komplete 10

Last edited by grayter1; 07-16-2018 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT2018.4 with X-Touch and Dock TFB0779 Pro Tools 2018 3 05-26-2018 08:39 PM
Mac Pro mid2012 12 or 6 core for PT2018 SD70 Pro Tools 2018 14 05-26-2018 01:05 PM
Automation Window in PT2018 oscar_wonderboy Pro Tools 2018 3 03-01-2018 11:23 PM
Session Import on PT2018 HD always crashes electrowerks Pro Tools 2018 5 02-24-2018 08:40 PM
Dissapointed with PT2018 Edit Window MarceloBcn Pro Tools 2018 7 02-06-2018 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com