Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2002, 08:28 AM
gavmac gavmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: England
Posts: 17
Default Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

I am currently trying to set-up Pro Tools to allow me to change plug-in parameters using a Korg MS2000's knobs sending Midi CC messages.

I have gone into peripharals ( bad spelling ) and set the profile for the CS-10 midi controller. What I want to know is what CC messages do each individual plug-in parameter respond to ?? They must all be different but I can't see how you can find this info....

Please Help

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2002, 09:07 AM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

If i am not mistaken the only 2 controllers that are able to control digi specified parameters (pluggin controls and things similar), would be the control 24 digi console, and the mackie hui (and the soon to be released 002). the only other way that other digital consoles can access those parameters would be through some form of hui emulation.

i could be totally wrong but, i dont think digi wants any consoles other then their licensed ones to enjoy those priceless (in all seriousness) benifits.

Christian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2002, 09:13 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

Hey Christian,
How's that hammer dulcimer coming? Do you get a chance to play it much?

~Roy [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

sorry to interrupt, Gavmac... [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2002, 09:20 AM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

Its great, and thanks for asking roy. I will tell you that to sound good on the hammer dulcimeris one thing, but to actually be good is another. Its a really fun, and challenging instrument, and in the long run i am sure it will make me a better musician (although not much is required for that). I have been listening to a lot of Rich Mullens music, and he is a stud on the thing. I simply wish i had more time (band every weekend and most wed's, work, piano, guitar etc...).

Christian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2002, 11:07 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

JLcooper cs-10 can also change the plugin-settings....and if you can program your machine, you should be able to get some control. Look in help/control-surfaces or something.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2002, 11:11 AM
gavmac gavmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: England
Posts: 17
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

Surely any control surface will use either CC's or Sysex to move plug-in parameters, so why can't you just use any thing that transmits these messages to control Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2002, 03:21 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

You can, but you have to emulate one of the protocols supported by protools. The protocol for the jlcooper cs10 is the only one they published

Link to pdf-file with the cs-10 command set explained
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2002, 04:13 PM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

The Tascam US-428 will also work in PT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-31-2002, 06:43 AM
gavmac gavmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: England
Posts: 17
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

Thankz I'll check them out....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2002, 09:50 AM
minimoog minimoog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default Re: Experienced Pro Tools User\'s

or you could buy a mac and select the appropriate device as controller in OMS.

makes it very easy, even if you can't run delay, eq and compression on 40 channels at once.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im getting pretty experienced with Pro Tools SE timcrow420 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 4 07-05-2012 11:41 PM
Euphonix MC Mix & Pro Tools LE, any user's? LaForestPoetry18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 07-15-2008 03:37 PM
Pro Tools 6.0: Some Mac User's Disenfranchised!!! snapple 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 37 02-27-2003 10:20 PM
I need an experienced Schoeps user's opinion. Ricco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-01-2003 09:32 AM
Mac guy needs experienced PC user's advice... J. Guerrero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-17-2002 09:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com