Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2017, 12:18 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 471
Default Gain Staging - Meter Setup

I've been thinking about changing the meter settings in PT 12.4. gain. I currently have it setup so the meter clips when the signal goes above -18. After using this setup for a month or two I'm starting to think that there's a better way to setup it up.

I'm gonna try setting the first meter stage, dark green, to -18 and then figure out what works best for the remaining colors. I have a quick question tho.. would it work out better to make it -20, instead of -18? My reasoning is that the levels increase with every added plugin.. if I set the dark green to -20, it will most likely stay below, or at -18, even after inserting a couple plugins. I mostly always insert subtractive EQ as the first plugin, followed by compression and a second EQ for boosting and color/saturation.

What meter settings do you all use? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2017, 02:35 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,146
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

I don't use the metering in PT as anything more than a sanity check. Always use a metering plugin. PSP Triple meter is a good one as is the one from Brainworx called bx-meter - see here: https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p.../bx_meter.html
I like the latter because it has the Katz metering system as part of it. A third one I sometimes use is DP Meter Pro from Blue Cat.

As to what level you use that is entirely up to you. I suggest reading up on the Katz metering system to get a good idea of what to look for; you'll find with that that what you're looking for in metering levels depends on the genre of music in play.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2017, 06:39 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 471
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I don't use the metering in PT as anything more than a sanity check. Always use a metering plugin. PSP Triple meter is a good one as is the one from Brainworx called bx-meter - see here: https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/p.../bx_meter.html
I like the latter because it has the Katz metering system as part of it. A third one I sometimes use is DP Meter Pro from Blue Cat.

As to what level you use that is entirely up to you. I suggest reading up on the Katz metering system to get a good idea of what to look for; you'll find with that that what you're looking for in metering levels depends on the genre of music in play.
I actually have the bx-meter plugin. I really need to read the manual, as I have a decent understanding of what I'm looking at, but not enough.

Is there a way to configure PT so it shows more than one plugin window at a time? It'd be nice to have an EQ plugin open while also having a the spectrum analyzer showing simultaneously. Same with the bx-meter staying on the screen while other plugin windows are open.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2017, 07:09 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,146
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
I actually have the bx-meter plugin. I really need to read the manual, as I have a decent understanding of what I'm looking at, but not enough.

Is there a way to configure PT so it shows more than one plugin window at a time? It'd be nice to have an EQ plugin open while also having a the spectrum analyzer showing simultaneously. Same with the bx-meter staying on the screen while other plugin windows are open.

Thanks.
That's easy - click the little red dot on the upper right of each plugin gui. With the dot unlit windows will stay open.

As to understanding what the bx meter is showing peruse not only the manual but to truly get it read up about K-System metering.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2017, 06:31 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,788
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
That's easy - click the little red dot on the upper right of each plugin gui. With the dot unlit windows will stay open.
Same goes for floating faders. Some might not be aware, you can have faders of tracks and sends open up in separate small, floating windows by clicking on the tiny fader symbol on tracks and sends in mixer window.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2017, 07:27 AM
Prog Musike Productions Prog Musike Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ciudad de Mexico
Posts: 6
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

Hello, I've been looking at a way to set the clip threshold to another value that is not 0db, how did you accomplish this?
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7, Focusritte PRO 40/ ADAT Presonus DIGIMAX 8, Macbook Pro 13" (Late) 2013 8GB, macOS Sierra 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2017, 07:46 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 471
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog Musike Productions View Post
Hello, I've been looking at a way to set the clip threshold to another value that is not 0db, how did you accomplish this?
Go to Preferences -> Meters tab. At the top right of the window you can choose between several different meter types (via drop down menu), as well as enter your own custom settings.. one of them being the dBFS value.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2017, 09:52 AM
Prog Musike Productions Prog Musike Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ciudad de Mexico
Posts: 6
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

That worked perfectly, thank you.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7, Focusritte PRO 40/ ADAT Presonus DIGIMAX 8, Macbook Pro 13" (Late) 2013 8GB, macOS Sierra 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2017, 05:42 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 471
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog Musike Productions View Post
That worked perfectly, thank you.
I used to set the clip (0 dBFS) to -18 or 20dB, but recently I've been keeping that at 0dB and using the first light green shade as -18. It's helped me manage the increase in dB from accumulated plugins. I just keep an eye on the input gain not passing -18 when initially tracking.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-22-2017, 08:42 PM
Prog Musike Productions Prog Musike Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ciudad de Mexico
Posts: 6
Default Re: Gain Staging - Meter Setup

I recently bought a very good and inexpensive plug-in you might want to take a look at, VUMT Deluxe from Klanghelm, have it on ALL my tracks now. works perfectly and has a wide variety of metering scale options, I'm using K-20 and RMS -3db.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7, Focusritte PRO 40/ ADAT Presonus DIGIMAX 8, Macbook Pro 13" (Late) 2013 8GB, macOS Sierra 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VU Meter Plugins and Gain Staging adam79 Pro Tools 12 Discussion 21 10-14-2016 05:04 PM
Gain Staging?? Raoul23 Getting Started 20 07-05-2016 10:00 AM
Gain Staging username_1 General Discussion 2 11-12-2010 01:41 PM
Gain Staging (i.e. +6 db = 0?) carmichael Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 03-14-2008 11:02 PM
Gain Staging wolfskin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-31-2005 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com