Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2010, 12:01 PM
awhile awhile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default audio input tracks sent to one aux track - how do i monitor JUST the aux input track?

hey guys
here's my problem:
im mixing a project, and i grouped different instruments (drums, for example) into just one aux input track, to control the whole group with just that one track.
what i want is to be able to listen to just the aux input track, bear in mind that i have 6 or 7 of these aux input tracks, all different instruments, and i would like to control all those groups just with the aux input faders but to do that i need to monitor just those. except if i solo them, then obviously it mutes everything else so i cant hear anything.
im new at this so maybe this is a stupid question but is there any way this can be done?
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2010, 12:42 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,487
Default Re: audio input tracks sent to one aux track - how do i monitor JUST the aux input tr

"Solo safe" is the relevant term. Command-click the solo button on the Aux track, then when you solo one of the grouped tracks, they'll all solo but the Aux track (and any other solo-safed tracks) will still be heard.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Can we debunk the "less bits" myth now?

PT 12.8.1 HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 12.8.2 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win7x64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2010, 01:10 AM
awhile awhile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: audio input tracks sent to one aux track - how do i monitor JUST the aux input tr

thanks!
i had thought of changing the outputs of all the other tracks so that i dont hear them but apparently that erases all automation on the tracks.
anyway, thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2010, 03:36 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: audio input tracks sent to one aux track - how do i monitor JUST the aux input tr

Another way to do it is to solo-safe all the individual drum tracks (and other instruments) so you can solo your drum bus, your guitars bus, your vocals bus, and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2010, 07:50 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,487
Default Re: audio input tracks sent to one aux track - how do i monitor JUST the aux input tr

Good suggestion.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Can we debunk the "less bits" myth now?

PT 12.8.1 HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 12.8.2 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win7x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does 10 still have the bug if Input Monitor is on a multi-channel track Craig F Pro Tools 10 Discussion 0 05-05-2012 06:17 PM
Input track incorrect monitor level. arturix Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 08-01-2011 05:38 PM
How do I monitor the input of a track w/o recording FierceBrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-18-2008 11:13 AM
Input monitor on 1 track ? priorytools ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 10-19-2007 09:32 AM
Clone an aux input track to an audio track NY909 Tips & Tricks 0 01-25-2000 06:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com