Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2009, 08:41 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

Hello,

I am new to Pro Tools 8, and I am thinking to get a complete set of good (professional) plug-ins (RTAS) for the following

1) Compressor/Limiter
2) Reverb, Delay, Chorus
3) Distortion
4) Any effect that helps my song sound more clear
5) EQ
6) Drum patterns (high quality drums sound)
7) Guitar patterns (progressions controllable & high quality sound needed)
8) Bass

I have EZdrummers, Virtual Guitarist (VST converted to RTAS), Smack! LE, Izotope Ozone 4, Hypersonic 2 (converted to RTAS), Drummer Superior 2.

Is there anything that is better than on my list? Thanks a lot for your information and help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2009, 08:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,884
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

I think you are pretty much there. The only thing you really need above what you have is a good reverb package. 2 I like are IK MUltimedia Classik Reverbs and Overloud's BreverB.
1) Compressor/Limiter-I like BF76 and SMACK
2) Reverb, Delay, Chorus-see above, use the Digirack stuff included in PT8
3) Distortion-not anything that I would go for
4) Any effect that helps my song sound more clear-good mics, better preamps and good technique
5) EQ-the included Digirack stuff works well but I'd be lost without a Pultec
6) Drum patterns (high quality drums sound)-ezdrummer should be fine
7) Guitar patterns (progressions controllable & high quality sound needed)-hard to fake this stuff. Since I play my own, I don't know of any
8) Bass-once again, I just play my own
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:43 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

I would highly recommend AmliTube Fender by IK Multimedia for guitar distortion and effects: http://www.ikmultimedia.com/fender/features/

I've gotten some good results out of Rob Papen's RG for guitar patterns : http://www.robpapen.com/rg.html

This is a great sample library of hard rock samples and loops, including bass, guitar and drums: http://www.soundsonline.com/Quantum-...pr-EW-173.html

Real Guitar from Music Lab might help you- but I have no experience with it: http://www.musiclab.com/products/realgtr_info.htm

As far as EZ Drummer, don't forget some of the expansions like the latest New York Studio Drums: http://imsproav.com/main/TOONTRTT122.html

As far as effects that may make your songs sound more 'clear' - you may want to elaborate, or link us up to some song examples so we can better advise you... sometimes its not buying more gear- sometimes it's about getting to know the gear you have... what monitors do you have? It could be that you need to think about your studio monitors...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:56 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by promixr View Post
... sometimes its not buying more gear- sometimes it's about getting to know the gear you have...
+1
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 64 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 64 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / ext USB2 drive / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
About me: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...fyAsamJLA/edit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:44 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

I have an Event brand monitor speakers which cost me around $500 a pair. I'm thinking to add my sub-woofer to the system, but I don't know the good and cheap way to do it. Right now, I only have my monitor speakers hooked up to the Mbox2. Any idea how to hook up my sub-woofer? When I say Bass, I meant the Bass plug-in that sounds good and high quality. Thanks again for your guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:54 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbox2issue View Post
I have an Event brand monitor speakers which cost me around $500 a pair. I'm thinking to add my sub-woofer to the system, but I don't know the good and cheap way to do it. Right now, I only have my monitor speakers hooked up to the Mbox2. Any idea how to hook up my sub-woofer? When I say Bass, I meant the Bass plug-in that sounds good and high quality. Thanks again for your guys.
The way most subwoofers work is that they have a L/R in and L/R out. you take your stereo out from your MBox and run it into the subwoofer. The sub then splits the signal above and below a certain frequency (usually there is a knob on it to set this from 80Hz up to 120Hz). Everything above that frequency gets sent out the L/R out of the subwoofer to your speakers and everything below that frequency gets sent to the subwoofer's speaker. Depending on your speakers, you move that freq. knob on the subwoofer to find the "sweet spot".

If the subwoofer you are looking at doesn't have this ability, move on and find one that does. It will make it much easier for you in the long run.

As for a great sounding bass sample library/plugin, you can't go wrong with Trilogy (now Trillian) from Spectrasonics.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:15 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

Cool, does it lose my sound quality when I connect it from Mbox2 to sub-woofer, then from sub-woofer to my monitor speakers compared to direct connection from Mbox2 to my monitor speakers? Because I am using the TRS cable to hook up atm, and I heard that it sounds better with this cable, but the sub-woofer won't have this kind of input.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,884
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

You will be okay if you pick a decent sub(which leaves out any home hifi sub). Check out the KRK RP10 which has balanced ins and outs(and gets pretty loud too). All the home hifi stuff is RCA ins and outs which are about useless for us Pro Toolers. I just started using one(the KRK) and so far, I am happy with it over the Wharfedale Pro sub I had(I am still using a Behringer digital crossover and feeding the sub separately from the "C" output of a Presonus Central Station so I can listen with or without the sub). SOmething else to think about, I have my sub sitting on an Auralex Gramma to isolate it from the floor. Since the Mopads works, I figured this would too(or am I deluding myself?)...
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2009, 02:08 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbox2issue View Post
Cool, does it lose my sound quality when I connect it from Mbox2 to sub-woofer, then from sub-woofer to my monitor speakers compared to direct connection from Mbox2 to my monitor speakers? Because I am using the TRS cable to hook up atm, and I heard that it sounds better with this cable, but the sub-woofer won't have this kind of input.
Albee pretty much said it all. I was just going to point out that there are a lot of subwoofers with XLR inputs. XLR inputs and outputs are balanced just like your TRS 1/4" cable. It's just a different connector for the same type of signal. If you get a 1/4" TRS to XLR into your sub (or if you find a sub with TRS ins/outs) you won't have any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2009, 05:05 PM
mbox2issue mbox2issue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: Questions for Experienced Pro Tools Users

Cool, I will just get KRK sub-woofer for the setup. Thanks a lot for the awesome help guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**in need of advice from experienced users please** holdenw172 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 10-29-2009 02:38 PM
Strike Questions for experienced Users (Digi) citi Virtual Instruments 3 03-28-2008 02:20 PM
experienced users astrorock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-17-2005 04:21 PM
Help! Experienced 001 users might know this... skeeboheebo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-16-2005 10:31 AM
Experienced Logic & Pro Tools TDM users! TiPo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-13-2004 05:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com