Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2017, 07:22 AM
wk4231 wk4231 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1
Default Live mixing/automation without danger of stopping playback?

Hello!

I record a lot of podcasts with student engineers at our studio. We're trying to find ways to live mix typically 2 person interviews for a faster turnaround. One of our ideas was to write volume automation on the timeline while we're recording.

The setback for this is that if we accidentally press the spacebar or click anywhere on the timeline, it stops the recording. Is there any way to prevent a recording from stopping this way?

I'm also open to any other ideas for live mixing, preferably all within the DAW itself. We're on Pro Tools 12 HD. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2017, 07:46 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Live mixing/automation without danger of stopping playback?

I record one track per mic (plugs as needed) all bussed to a stereo aux (plugs as needed), and bussed/recorded to a stereo track. If the live stereo mix needs a tweak later, I have all unprocessed source tracks available. Be careful not to hit stop !!! Experiment before the next gig to determine how hard you can push the rig without accidentally stopping record. I try to be as hands-off as possible during a live recording.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 64 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 64 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / ext USB2 drive / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
About me: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...fyAsamJLA/edit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2017, 01:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,029
Default Re: Live mixing/automation without danger of stopping playback?

take the keyboard off while recording, easy as that
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2017, 12:44 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,504
Default Re: Live mixing/automation without danger of stopping playback?

Hey what up Austin Texan?

I would get a cheap USB/HUI surface with faders and mix with that. ie no clicking on the timeline required....and don't hit the space bar.
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skipping playback (stopping/starting during playback) sKjF Pro Tools 12 Discussion 12 11-12-2016 07:28 AM
-9136 on stopping playback/record davegibbon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-19-2007 07:21 PM
Playback/Recording stopping immediately newaudiogirl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-06-2007 10:57 PM
stopping automation when drag and drop fx/samples. dkstudios Post - Surround - Video 2 12-31-2006 03:56 PM
Stopping playback returns transport to zero? TimInVan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-13-2002 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com