Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2017, 06:41 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 458
Default Panning - Sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus

When sending two mono tracks to stereo bus, let's say bus 1-2.. if I send one track to bus 1 and the other to bus 2, the pan knob disappears from the mono track. If I send each mono track to bus 1-2 the pan knob remains. Why does this happen? Does the mono track lose it's pan setting when sent to a mono bus, in this example bus 1? And if so, where does it get placed? Is it placed back to center, no matter how I had it originally panned? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2017, 06:46 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 10,794
Default Re: Panning - Sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
When sending two mono tracks to stereo bus, let's say bus 1-2.. if I send one track to bus 1 and the other to bus 2, the pan knob disappears from the mono track. If I send each mono track to bus 1-2 the pan knob remains. Why does this happen? Does the mono track lose it's pan setting when sent to a mono bus, in this example bus 1? And if so, where does it get placed? Is it placed back to center, no matter how I had it originally panned? Thanks.
When sending to a single buss, there logically can be no panning. Panning a mono track is placing it into a stereo field. This can only happen if the destination is stereo.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2017, 07:15 AM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 458
Default Re: Panning - Sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
When sending to a single buss, there logically can be no panning. Panning a mono track is placing it into a stereo field. This can only happen if the destination is stereo.
Alright, but if a mono track has the ability of being panned, why does it lose that ability when being sent to a mono bus? In the example I mentioned, when sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus, i.e. bus 1-2, via two mono buses, bus 1 and bus 2, how does the panning work on the stereo aux channel (bus 1-2)? As in setting the pan on the stereo bus.. what information gets sent left and right? Hopefully I explained that correctly!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2017, 07:44 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 10,794
Default Re: Panning - Sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
Alright, but if a mono track has the ability of being panned, why does it lose that ability when being sent to a mono bus? In the example I mentioned, when sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus, i.e. bus 1-2, via two mono buses, bus 1 and bus 2, how does the panning work on the stereo aux channel (bus 1-2)? As in setting the pan on the stereo bus.. what information gets sent left and right? Hopefully I explained that correctly!
As I said, it's about the destination. If the destination is mono, then there's no ability to pan since you need two busses to pan.

I think you need to get some training on the basics of engineering and signal flow etc.

In the meantime, check a video like this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAiQPojMKz4
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2017, 09:15 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Panning - Sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus

A stereo bus if nothing more than two mono buses when you send a mono track to only one half of the stereo bus you are basically sending a mono track to another mono track, which means there's nothing stereo to be panned as Drew already said. The reason you can pan the original mono track in the first place is because it is being sent to both halves of the stereo output of your session exactly like you do when you send it to both channels of any other stereo bus.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2017, 06:29 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 458
Default Re: Panning - Sending two mono tracks to a stereo bus

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
A stereo bus if nothing more than two mono buses when you send a mono track to only one half of the stereo bus you are basically sending a mono track to another mono track, which means there's nothing stereo to be panned as Drew already said. The reason you can pan the original mono track in the first place is because it is being sent to both halves of the stereo output of your session exactly like you do when you send it to both channels of any other stereo bus.
Right, I understand that.

When I send both mono tracks to a stereo bus (let's say bus 1-2), via a mono bus for each track, the track sent via bus 1 is sent to the left channel, while the other, bus 2, is sent to the right. This is because when soloing the track being sent to bus 1 you only hear the left side, and vice versa.

When panning one mono track hard left and the other hard right, and then sending both mono tracks to bus 1-2, bus 1-2's panning behaves differently. When soloing just one of the mono tracks and hard panning both of bus 1-2's pan knobs, say hard right, there is still some remaining sound in the left channel, at a much lower volume. Why is this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with panning mono and stereo tracks in Pro Tools 12 fastnboulbous Pro Tools 12 Discussion 2 01-16-2016 09:36 PM
PT 11.2.1 Panning automation conversion between stereo & mono tracks Ed Douglas Pro Tools 11 Discussion 0 08-17-2014 10:57 AM
Mono audio tracks + stereo aux track = panning issues! Help please! shotgunjoe Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-31-2011 03:07 PM
Digi 003 is sending stereo ADAT outputs as mono summed wallysound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 07-04-2008 02:10 PM
Panning a mono track when outputting to a stereo bus wreckd504 Tips & Tricks 2 06-07-2008 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com