Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2017, 11:22 AM
Jt06 Jt06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Default Level out Volume consistent without compression??

Is there a way to level out the volume of a track without compression?? Any instrument, but my concern right now is vocals. some parts are way too loud, some way too quiet. A compressor does do the job for this, BUT, then the quality sounds bad.. you can hear all the breaths being taken very loudly, the c's and s's pop out way too much. what i've been doing is just playing through the region, and seperating the parts, and using the db leveler on the bottom left and adjusting it piece by piece OR, using latch and just riding the fader up and down.. (problem with that, is i always catch it 1/2 a second AFTER i notice its too loud or too quiet).. as you can imagine this takes a while, and with everything PT has to offer, i highly doubt there isn't a way to level out the volumes so it's all consistent WITHOUT using a compressor. Or maybe i'm just not using the compressor right? maybe using way too much?? Someone help me lol!! What do you guys do for this!??
__________________
iMac 21" OS X 10.11.6

Pro Tools 12.7 (Student/Teacher Card and iLok) (ALL Stock plug ins; Never purchased any. (got Pro tools software through schooling))

Steinburg ur22 MKii (2 audio input; 2 instrument input; MIDI in, MIDI out)

Sterling audio MX5" Monitors (2)[/FONT][/FONT]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2017, 01:49 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 804
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

What you're doing is the way to do it. Volume automation.

If you want an automated system, look into Wave Rider by Quiet Arts.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2017, 02:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,895
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

Start by using Clip Gain to adjust anything too loud or too soft(I do this even WITH compression). Once that is done, I use BF76 set to just catch the peaks, followed by SMACK! to add more compression and "character"(SMACK! is Avid's take on the LA-2A tube compressor). After that, I will automate the volume. If that STILL needs more, I insert Waves Vocal Rider in the top insert slot(but I rarely need it) If you are still working with ONLY the stock plugins, SMACK is often available on the second-hand market for around $50(plus the usual $25 iLok transfer fee) and is worth every penny. The next plugin you will want is a good reverb(Dverb is okay, but there are tons of more versatile reverbs out there).
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2017, 04:01 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,069
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

Wow, whatever happened to mixing with faders?
__________________
Done mixing:
Braxtons Family Values Season 5 (WeTV)
Now Mixing:
Cold Justice Season 4 (Oxygen Network)

IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2017, 08:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,895
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Wow, whatever happened to mixing with faders?
Nothing happened. With the correct gear, its perfectly fine. But, for those mixing in the box, without some physical fader control, its tough to do in real-time. Sure you can automate the volume, but this happens after all the plugins. By using clip gain, or Vocal Rider, you level things out before they hit the plugins. Doing that drives compressor inserts more evenly, which gives a more consistent sound(valuable for any compressor, but even more-so with "character" compressors like an LA-2A or SMACK!).

A compressor works fine for modest level control, but if the singer has too much dynamic range(like most modern singers that never learned any mic technique), then a compressor is simply not going to wrangle that much volume difference. I can tell by the 3rd pass(at most) if the singer is going to need a lot of editing, so rather than A-beat them up over it, or B-work them till they are burned out, I get the best they are capable of, and fix it(sadly, damage control is a lot of what many of us get paid for these days).
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2017, 10:42 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,069
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

That was sarcasm.
Yes, I mix in the box, use compressors. and clip gain.
But I was raised using faders, and riding into a compressor if need be.

I watched a young mixer mix a show without faders, it was painfull.

Also segways:
In TV land, a Pro Tools music segway just doesn't sound as good as a hand move with a fader.
__________________
Done mixing:
Braxtons Family Values Season 5 (WeTV)
Now Mixing:
Cold Justice Season 4 (Oxygen Network)

IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2017, 12:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,895
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
That was sarcasm.
Yes, I mix in the box, use compressors. and clip gain.
But I was raised using faders, and riding into a compressor if need be.

I watched a young mixer mix a show without faders, it was painfull.

Also segways:
In TV land, a Pro Tools music segway just doesn't sound as good as a hand move with a fader.
Segway??? Isn't that a funky 2-wheeled thing you ride around
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2017, 04:58 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 989
Default Re: Level out Volume consistent without compression??

+1 on clip gain, its a great pre-fade level prep.
Search up vocal mic technique too, sometimes I feel its a bit of a dying art. Its something every singer should learn. If the singer is just blasting away really close to the mic, the levels are hard to keep in check.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 12.7.1, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume settings not consistent C Walldorf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-15-2009 09:50 AM
Compression threshold level? porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-11-2006 02:13 PM
How to keep the volume consistent in mastering...? Hopeless and Reckless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-18-2004 07:46 AM
Level for Bouncing, Using Compression Punx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-24-2003 10:04 AM
consistent volume control on songs jimsmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-24-2002 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com