Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2017, 07:07 AM
Camilo Toledo Camilo Toledo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wash. D.C. / Maryland
Posts: 1,907
Default Waveforms on Edit window= merely plain graphics?

I received a session to mix with the majority of the tracks recorded at a low level -16db and do not go past the green. I used clip gain to lift the level to -10 or -6db and I am able to manage and process the sounds more cohesively.
Normally on the Edit window, I use medium size tracks, and in some of the tracks the wave form size was occupying the whole vertical space of track view. Which to me meant that I was already in the red. When I check the same track on the Mix window it was not even hitting unity gain -0 db.

My question is the following: Why Is the representation of the waveform inaccurate and not a truly metered audio representation of the db level we see on the meters in the mix window?
Even Audacity A FREE SOFTWARE has a vertical meter that accurately measures db in the displayed wave form that equally matches the meters levels in the mixing toolbars view. Wave forms have different colors which represent RMS and highest peaks and also a wave form db view and wave form clipping view….

Are the waveforms in Edit window in Pro Tools just plain graphics?
__________________
Camilo Toledo

Last edited by Camilo Toledo; 03-24-2017 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2017, 08:45 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,643
Default Re: Waveforms on Edit window= merely plain graphics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camilo Toledo View Post
... in some of the tracks the wave form size was occupying the whole vertical space of track view. Which to me meant that I was already in the red. When I check the same track on the Mix window it was not even hitting unity gain -0 db.

My question is the following: Why Is the representation of the waveform inaccurate and not a truly metered audio representation of the db level we see on the meters in the mix window?
Maybe that track is set to an individual vertical waveform zoom value. Alt+A should restore to the default.
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 03-25-2017 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit Window graphics issue midnightrambler Pro Tools 12 Discussion 9 11-19-2015 07:21 AM
Midi edit window stuck to edit window lvsranch Pro Tools 11 Discussion 7 04-04-2015 12:42 PM
waveforms fail to appear in edit window mattrussell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-31-2010 08:18 AM
Visually edit waveforms? Sporkarus Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 07-18-2006 08:47 PM
Can't edit Waveforms with Pencil Tool Doogz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-01-2003 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com