Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2003, 01:03 PM
cliepe12 cliepe12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 298
Default DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

A few questions for the many advanced brains that roam the DUC:

1. I have a DA88 and just ordered a DA38. To sync them together, do I just need a word clock cable, then they act as a true 16 track recorder working together? this is what the guy at the guitar center told me, but I thought I needed something more.

2. given that I will eventually have the sync issue worked out, is there a way I can use both of these and put them in optically to the 001, or is 8 additional simultaneous tracks all that is supported.
__________________
Chris-
Digi001 6.4, 10.3.3, Reason 2.5, Waves Diamond v4, Yamaha 01V96, Dual 1.25 w/FW800 - 1GB, 2x120GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2003, 08:57 AM
cliepe12 cliepe12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 298
Default Re: DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

anybody???
__________________
Chris-
Digi001 6.4, 10.3.3, Reason 2.5, Waves Diamond v4, Yamaha 01V96, Dual 1.25 w/FW800 - 1GB, 2x120GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2003, 09:03 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

You'd actually use a Tascam sync cable.. and set the ID of one of the machines to something other than zero.. press the chase button and you should be set.

You'd also need to buy a TDIF to ADAT converter box.. Tascam makes one.. but you only have one ADAT lightpipe port on your Digi hardware.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2003, 01:55 AM
swheaton swheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Canberra, ACT, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 81
Default Re: DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

Yes, you need a special Tascam Sync cable to sync up the two Tascam machines. This cable carries wordclock and other location information, it is different to (and more than) a normal word clock cable.

As mentioned, if you buy a TDIF Digital I/O-ADAT Lightpipe convertor. then you can transfer 8 tracks from one Tascam machine at a time. As the 001 only has a single ADAT lightpipe input, you can not transfer all 16 tracks from both machines at once into Protools/001.

I would record a 'sync' tone/pulse/signal accross both Tascam machines, onto all 16 tracks at once if you have a mixer that will bus a signal to all tracks, or just to one track from each set of 8 tracks in the two machines. Then transfer into Protools in two passes-8 tracks/1 machine at a time, then zoom down to sample level into the waveform in Protools and shift each set of 8 tracks together to line up the 'sync' signals across each set of 8 tracks by eye.

I use this method often to line up 24 tracks of Tascam when recorded into Protools, as we only have 16 channels into Protools at once.

Simon
Canberra
AUSTRALIA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2003, 12:58 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

has anyone tried using MTC to lock the whole system together and then do transfers this way ...

john
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2003, 04:03 PM
cliepe12 cliepe12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 298
Default Re: DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

It is great to be able to come to the DUC with any weird question, and not only get it answered, but get great professional advice!! Thanks guys!!!
__________________
Chris-
Digi001 6.4, 10.3.3, Reason 2.5, Waves Diamond v4, Yamaha 01V96, Dual 1.25 w/FW800 - 1GB, 2x120GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2003, 03:44 AM
swheaton swheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Canberra, ACT, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 81
Default Re: DA88 and DA38 with Pro Tools

MTC has some timing slop in it's sync, it is not sample acurate. Different passes will start at slightly different locations (I think it is within a quarter of a frame).

That's why I use an audio signal with a fast transient recorded onto the two (or more) source tape machines while they are locked together, then once loaded individually into PT you can zoom into sample level and shift them in single sample increments so they are in 'sample accurate' sync.

If you don't need totally accurate sync, then MTC would be fine for most situations, just don't spread stereo/multiple mic signals across the two machines.


Also, if buying a Tascam-ADAT convertor for newer high-resolution Tascam DTRS machines, like the DA78HR and DA98HR, you would probably want a convertor box that passes the full 24 bit high resolution signal through to the 001. But since you are using the older 16 bit Tascams this is not an issue for you.


Simon
Canberra
AUSTRALIA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DA88 NDF to Pro Tools DF (pull-down) Katherine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-17-2005 09:37 AM
sync pt 001 6.1 to tascam da38 pete doherty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-10-2003 09:14 PM
Sync pt001 6.1 to da38 pete doherty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-08-2003 07:01 PM
Sync DA38 to Pro Tools Mix? Omar Rane Tips & Tricks 12 11-26-2000 11:12 PM
DA88 vs. DA38? anders Tips & Tricks 7 01-09-2000 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com