Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2019, 03:09 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 35
Default Backup regimen in Windows

Hi all

Used Mac before, used to, and like, the OSX built-in backup.

Now on windows, what is best practice for backing up in our music prod type of environment.

Tips most welcome

/FZZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2019, 10:08 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,172
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

I use Macrium Reflect, the paid version. I backup my OS and Audio drives nightly, keeping 3 rolling full images of each. I also backup my OS drive before any update/upgrade/install/uninstall. The paid version has Image Guardian, which protects the image from Ransomware and the ability to set up email notifications of backup success or failure and a few other features not in the free version. Once setup properly, I can click an icon on my Taskbar and the program does the rest. There are other,, similar programs and Windows has System Restore and a rudimentary image backup capability built in.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2019, 10:46 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 485
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I use Macrium Reflect, the paid version. I backup my OS and Audio drives nightly, keeping 3 rolling full images of each. I also backup my OS drive before any update/upgrade/install/uninstall. The paid version has Image Guardian, which protects the image from Ransomware and the ability to set up email notifications of backup success or failure and a few other features not in the free version. Once setup properly, I can click an icon on my Taskbar and the program does the rest. There are other,, similar programs and Windows has System Restore and a rudimentary image backup capability built in.
Home version? (They seem to have quite a few tiers...)
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2019, 12:29 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,172
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

I use home.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2019, 01:58 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,105
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

Is Macrium for PC only and if yes, is the CCC what mac users use these days? Thanks
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2019, 06:11 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,921
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

I use Acronis True Image(but Macrium and Backupper also work well) and I keep a 2TB USB drive that holds nothing but backup images of the system drive. I also usually only keep the most recent 3 or 4, HOWEVER; I also rotate 3 separate but similar SSD drives(500GB) in 2.5-3.5 adapter cases and have my C: drive and 2 recording drives in a 3-slot drive tray for easy swaps. The 3 system drives are:
#1-Newest version of Pro Tools(2019.10 Ultimate today)
#2-Previous major version(12.4 HD)
#3-Last new version of 2019(.6 IIRC)

If I download some new software or update, I will clone over #3 FROM #1>Install #3 and install the new software and/or update to that(making #1 the most recent "GOOD" setup). Doing this allows me to try anything, knowing I have a backup plan if something goes south(Imaging works fine, but I may not have time for that and need to get work done).

Samples drives get imaged BEFORE I install anything new.
Recording drives; I am more likely to save session copies to multiple external drives and to both my recording drives(files change too often for imaging to be of value). I have 12TB of NAS and another 8-10TB of external USB3 drives). Staples currently has 6 and 8 TB USB3 drives on sale($119 and $149)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2019, 09:10 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,640
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

I manually back-up everything to 3 externals: 2 on-site & 1 off-site. Acronis for boot-drive images.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy rig (works): PT 5&6 / MAC G4 OS9&OSX / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:36 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,172
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Is Macrium for PC only and if yes, is the CCC what mac users use these days? Thanks
Macrium is Windows only.

Avid used to recommend SuperDuper for Mac imaging and cloning. Many here use Carbon Copy Cloner.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:25 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,105
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Macrium is Windows only.

Avid used to recommend SuperDuper for Mac imaging and cloning. Many here use Carbon Copy Cloner.
Got it! Thanks Bruce
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2019, 03:43 PM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 35
Default Re: Backup regimen in Windows

Thx all !

After googling, I think Macrion Reflect Home, is the one for me, doing images of entire C: and Folder bups of D: and any other discs. Few questions:

Weed !
-In your experience, re-installing an image, does computer activated plug-in counts remain unchanged or does activation count decrease? (I have toontrack and arturia) Any need to re-activate/reinstall plugs?

-How about updates of the sw?

fzz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup Backup Backup 77pro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-26-2010 11:20 PM
Backup...Backup.... xlrsound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-02-2006 03:26 PM
DVD Backup Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-02-2004 09:43 AM
TRAVAN Tape Backup - compress audio backup or not ? stoneinapond Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-28-2001 01:35 AM
DVD for backup with G4/001? mikerica101996 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-24-2000 03:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com