Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-24-2019, 07:33 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,131
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Just adding a data point: you can get an S3 new for about $3900.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2019, 02:05 PM
sjgam sjgam is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 104
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Just adding a data point: you can get an S3 new for about $3900.
Very relevant data point as the two S1's will be $2600 and then depending on what tablet you get could go as high at $2600 for two ipad pro's and put it at $4600 or say $3600 with two $500 tablets. Its in the range of the S3 (But you get two nice tablets to use ...)

(BTW I have not personally seen a new S3 going for $3900)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-24-2019, 04:04 PM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 248
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

First of all i love my s3 and dock combo... It works...
The biggest con is the limitation to 16 faders +1 of the dock.
The next thing is the position of some buttons, which works for live, but not really for other applications. Remember the S3 was released as live control surface and not for Protools at all. The artist transport was a very good addition to the s3. It had a Numpad, but thats all history, cause it was replaced by the dock, which is a great piece of hardware in combination with the Ipad.

I quote Ediie Jones about the S3
"At present we have no plans to EOL S3 but if sales drop to nothing next year we might be forced to. Dont forget even if we do there will be a further 5 years hardware support and we still release free updates today for the very first Artist Mix 12 years ago, so software wont be an issue."


If i would decide today, i won´t buy a S3, cause the S1 has the same hardware and with the Ipads a better Meter Bridge (S6 like). Would i miss the second row of Oleds... No, cause the visual feedback of the Ipads is better. Pan, Sends and so on... Would i miss the meters next to the fader... Yes... cause they are a good indication, but i think the S6 Meters with S1 are better...



Lets speak of the price point...


Lets buy 2 S1s (1299) and 2 Ipad Pro 12 and a high qualitiy audio interface... You are in the same price region as the s3 or above....


The s3 is still a great compact control surface with integratet AVB Audio interface. Its handy, if you take it on stage or need to travel for recordings. But lets face it... It will never get the possibility to add Ipads or another Tablet to get the S6 style metering. And you will always be limited to 16 Faders....


My future setup for my home studio will be... 4 S1 (32 Faders) 4 Ipad Pros 12 for metering... thats it, cause as a hdx user i dont need an audio interface, cause i have my HD Interfaces...Omni and more...


So yes i think with the new modular approach of the s1, it will replace the s3...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-25-2019, 10:07 AM
sjgam sjgam is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 104
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrackerLe View Post
First of all i love my s3 and dock combo... It works...
The biggest con is the limitation to 16 faders +1 of the dock.
The next thing is the position of some buttons, which works for live, but not really for other applications. Remember the S3 was released as live control surface and not for Protools at all. The artist transport was a very good addition to the s3. It had a Numpad, but thats all history, cause it was replaced by the dock, which is a great piece of hardware in combination with the Ipad.

I quote Ediie Jones about the S3
"At present we have no plans to EOL S3 but if sales drop to nothing next year we might be forced to. Dont forget even if we do there will be a further 5 years hardware support and we still release free updates today for the very first Artist Mix 12 years ago, so software wont be an issue."


If i would decide today, i won´t buy a S3, cause the S1 has the same hardware and with the Ipads a better Meter Bridge (S6 like). Would i miss the second row of Oleds... No, cause the visual feedback of the Ipads is better. Pan, Sends and so on... Would i miss the meters next to the fader... Yes... cause they are a good indication, but i think the S6 Meters with S1 are better...



Lets speak of the price point...


Lets buy 2 S1s (1299) and 2 Ipad Pro 12 and a high qualitiy audio interface... You are in the same price region as the s3 or above....


The s3 is still a great compact control surface with integratet AVB Audio interface. Its handy, if you take it on stage or need to travel for recordings. But lets face it... It will never get the possibility to add Ipads or another Tablet to get the S6 style metering. And you will always be limited to 16 Faders....


My future setup for my home studio will be... 4 S1 (32 Faders) 4 Ipad Pros 12 for metering... thats it, cause as a hdx user i dont need an audio interface, cause i have my HD Interfaces...Omni and more...


So yes i think with the new modular approach of the s1, it will replace the s3...
Interesting you have concluded the S1 route and the other S3 owners on this thread as equally passionate about staying with S3. Its all about the meter screen and going over the 16 faders it seems for you. Different strokes for different folks ...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-26-2019, 06:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

FWIW, I found several android tablets on Amazon with 11.5-12.5" screens and priced under $200
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-27-2019, 04:50 AM
Jamie Mac Jamie Mac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 50
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjgam View Post
Interesting you have concluded the S1 route and the other S3 owners on this thread as equally passionate about staying with S3. Its all about the meter screen and going over the 16 faders it seems for you. Different strokes for different folks ...
I'm also in the camp of potentially switching to the S1.

So at this point the opinions are 50/50 (if I can count correctly)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-27-2019, 08:37 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 248
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

The best thing,Avid could do, is to release a S2...
A 8 Fader Control Surface with all S1 features and the S3 features combined.
I mean 2 rows of oled displays and encoders and the meter next to the fader.
So you have an 8 Fader S3 with S6 metering through Ipads or Android tablets. This would be so great... 4 S2s means 32 Faders...
I think, an audio interface is not needed, cause everyone has external hardware from Avid,UAD or Antelope or Apogee...


Is there anyone out there, who is using the AVB interface of the S3 as main Audio Hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-27-2019, 12:18 PM
ramonetl ramonetl is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrackerLe View Post
My future setup for my home studio will be... 4 S1 (32 Faders) 4 Ipad Pros 12 for metering... thats it, cause as a hdx user i dont need an audio interface, cause i have my HD Interfaces...Omni and more...
I was expecting the S4 to fill the void for this many inputs between the S6 and the S3 but it turns out this was not the case and the S4 is crazy expensive so this setup really makes a lot of sense. I plan to have two eventually. Keep an eye out on Best Buy for refurbished IPad Pros if looking they had them at really good prices and BF is coming soon.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-28-2019, 02:21 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,389
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
FWIW, I found several android tablets on Amazon with 11.5-12.5" screens and priced under $200
which 12.5? I've been looking for some since the s1 was announced.

I think for myself, I'm probably going to get a 3 s1's with android tablets, and the dock with the ipad pro 12.9 I already have. Then I'll get a raven so I can use it to quick input plugins sends and I/O and do editing on the edit window. If both system can work together, that would be a really good combo and that would be really close to the system I pitched Avid earlier this year. Well I just found some people are actually using the Raven MTI2 with Artist mix, so the s1 and MTI2 should work, yay!
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-28-2019, 09:08 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: S3 vs Two S1's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
which 12.5? I've been looking for some since the s1 was announced.

I think for myself, I'm probably going to get a 3 s1's with android tablets, and the dock with the ipad pro 12.9 I already have. Then I'll get a raven so I can use it to quick input plugins sends and I/O and do editing on the edit window. If both system can work together, that would be a really good combo and that would be really close to the system I pitched Avid earlier this year. Well I just found some people are actually using the Raven MTI2 with Artist mix, so the s1 and MTI2 should work, yay!
Go to amazon.com and search for 12.5 android tablet and it will show you several models ranging from 10" and up
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com