Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:08 PM
vtrojanman vtrojanman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 5
Default iLok crossgrade question

Spent all day pouring over threads trying to figure this out:

Just purchased an crossgrade from Pro Tools MP9 to Pro Tools 11. When prompted for my iLok user ID I get the following message:

"There are no qualifying upgrade products on this iLok account."

I've downloaded the latest version of iLok License Manager and can see my iLok is recognized and registered. I purchased this version of Pro Tools as a bundle, and I read in a previous thread that this was problematic, but I've also been reading about A LOT of recent issues with iLok, so I'm not sure exactly where my/this specific problem fits in. I've filled out an incident number with iLok, but wasn't sure if anyone out there might have any more information which could lead to answers that I haven't yet considered?
__________________
iMac 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, OSX 10.7.5 , 16GB, Pro Tools MP9 9.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:15 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

When you look at your iLok account, does it show the Pro Tools MP 9 license?

Is the Pro Tools 11 upgrade bundled license you purchased showing on your iLok account?

Have you checked your upgrade receipt to verify that the iLok.com User ID (what you use to login to iLok.com) is the same as the account you are looking at?

Do you have an iLok 2 (the rectangular one, not the original key shaped one) that is required for Pro Tools 11?
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:23 PM
vtrojanman vtrojanman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

[QUOTE=Bruce Paine;2058026]When you look at your iLok account, does it show the Pro Tools MP 9 license?

Yes

Is the Pro Tools 11 upgrade bundled license you purchased showing on your iLok account?

No

Have you checked your upgrade receipt to verify that the iLok.com User ID (what you use to login to iLok.com) is the same as the account you are looking at?

No -- this purchase was made over the phone via Guitar Center and they only sent me a license number.

Do you have an iLok 2 (the rectangular one, not the original key shaped one) that is required for Pro Tools 11?
Yes
__________________
iMac 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, OSX 10.7.5 , 16GB, Pro Tools MP9 9.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:33 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

Quote:
No -- this purchase was made over the phone via Guitar Center and they only sent me a license number.
That might well be your activation code.
If it is, then you need to login to your Avid account at http://account.avid.com

I checked, and it looks like you logged in recently.

After you login to your account, click on "Activate & Download Your Product"

Then enter the code that you were given in the window...

Avid Software Activation and Download
Enter your activation and/or download code:
xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx

When you complete the activation process, you will be registered for the product, your downloads will be available in your account under "My Products", and your Pro Tools 11 upgrade license will be deposited to your iLok account.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:39 PM
vtrojanman vtrojanman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Paine View Post
That might well be your activation code.
If it is, then you need to login to your Avid account at http://account.avid.com

I checked, and it looks like you logged in recently.

After you login to your account, click on "Activate & Download Your Product"

Then enter the code that you were given in the window...

Avid Software Activation and Download
Enter your activation and/or download code:
xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx

When you complete the activation process, you will be registered for the product, your downloads will be available in your account under "My Products", and your Pro Tools 11 upgrade license will be deposited to your iLok account.
Yes. Right after I enter the code is when I'm prompted for my iLok user ID and, when I put my ID in I receive the afore mentioned error message.
__________________
iMac 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, OSX 10.7.5 , 16GB, Pro Tools MP9 9.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:45 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

OK, lets try this...
From the iLok.com Known Issues page:
Quote:
Please use the following steps to perform a Sync/Repair operation.

IMPORTANT: For the quickest and best result, we recommend going through these steps with each affected iLok individually, with ONLY that iLok plugged in.

The first generation iLok is not as speedy as the second generation iLok; please be patient as this type of iLok will take longer and the process may seem slow or like nothing is happening. Don’t quit the process, leave it alone until it is finished. Seriously! Don’t touch the keyboard.
  1. Unplug all iLoks from your computer.
  2. Launch iLok License Manager. If you see "operation in progress" immediately upon launching, wait until the message clears before signing in. BE PATIENT. Do not close the application. When the initial operation is finished, sign in.
  3. Plug in ONE iLok.
  4. Double-click the plugged in iLok in the left-hand location column to open the Details Pane.
  5. Click the "Sync/Repair" link, and wait until the process completes. Again, be patient and let it do its job. The progress bar may flicker and at some points it may look like nothing is happening but you need to wait for the confirmation that the process is finished. This may take some time, especially for a first generation iLok.
  6. Verify that all expected licenses are now seen on your iLok, or in some cases, a license may be in your account instead of on the iLok. All expired licenses will be moved to your account.

Repeat steps 3-6 until you have performed a Sync/Repair on each iLok.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2013, 11:56 PM
vtrojanman vtrojanman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

Tried that earlier today as well and I still get the same error message.
__________________
iMac 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, OSX 10.7.5 , 16GB, Pro Tools MP9 9.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2013, 12:17 AM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

OK, check your Private Messages, I need some more info to see if I can help.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-03-2013, 01:59 PM
vtrojanman vtrojanman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

Turns out, I was sold the wrong crossgrade. Dealer sold me 9 to 11, not MP9 to 11. They gave me a new license number this morning and I'm downloading/installing right now.
__________________
iMac 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, OSX 10.7.5 , 16GB, Pro Tools MP9 9.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2013, 08:58 AM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: iLok crossgrade question

I think this same thing happened to me, but I did the LE to HD hardware exchange. I can't get my activation code to work and get the same error. I spent the most frustrating hour talking with Avid CS and could not convince the rep that there was possibly an LE-HD upgrade code and that I was given an HD-HD upgrade code. Can I get a little help please??? This seems like it should be pretty easy to fix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ilok issues - ProTools 9 crossgrade LE (Please install the iLok Client Software) pauledwards Windows 3 09-10-2013 05:02 PM
PT 9 crossgrade from PT 8, using PT 8 Ilok? tj7 macOS 2 07-11-2012 07:47 AM
Ilok crossgrade authorizer carnology Windows 2 06-28-2012 10:50 AM
Crossgrade Question (New iLok owner) Soundburst macOS 4 08-12-2011 09:18 AM
Does PT9 crossgrade replace PT8 on iLok? Dirt_ Pro Tools 9 7 01-29-2011 06:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com