Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2012, 12:43 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Automation Follows Edit making me crazy

OK, so I thought I understood this preference, but it's been causing me numerous headaches over the past couple of days, so maybe someone can clear it up for me or else confirm that it's not working as intended.

With "Automation Follows Edit" turned off, shouldn't I be able to edit a region and have any automation on that track remain untouched? Cuz it doesn't work like that if you're in Slip Mode. If I'm trimming a region on a track with volume and EQ automation, the automation is moving along with my trims no matter what "Automation Follows Edit" preference is set to.

Also, why can I no longer separately copy & paste automation unless "Automation Follows Edit" is turned on? I swear I used to be able to copy/paste/nudge/move all kinds automation just by selecting it and doing normal copy/paste commands, but now it doesn't work at all UNLESS that preference is turned on, even if there is no "Edit" (region) to speak of on the track (i.e. a VCA or Aux track w/automation)

I'm on PTHD 10.2 on 10.7.4. I have trashed prefs, but seeing this on both my PTHD10 rigs so don't think it's a unique thing. Seems to have changed around 10.2 update from what I can tell. I work as a music editor and have a lot of perspective / futz automation to deal with and these strange behaviors are making it very difficult to cut in alternate cues and move start/end times around while keeping the automation locked in.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2012, 11:28 AM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: Automation Follows Edit making me crazy

they should just rename it 'automation randomly follows edit' cos this has been happening to me since v8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2012, 11:02 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 914
Default Re: Automation Follows Edit making me crazy

I too find that the "automation follows edit" has been very unpredictable.
For instance, if you extend a clip buy trimming, and if the clip boundary does not have a breakpoint, your intended automation will not carry over to the extension. I find this very counter-intuitive.
Also, if plugins are placed in different slots your automation will not carry over (e.g EQ3).
Quote:
Also, why can I no longer separately copy & paste automation unless "Automation Follows Edit" is turned on?
Yes, this drives me nuts too.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snapshot automation making me crazy! cananball Post - Surround - Video 2 12-18-2011 05:24 PM
MIDI Drums are making me crazy asiabackpacker MIDI 4 06-02-2009 09:17 AM
MIDI Drums are making me crazy asiabackpacker MIDI 27 12-19-2008 05:57 AM
THIS PROBLEM IS MAKING ME CRAZY! HELP samfarhi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-27-2006 03:08 PM
This is making me crazy! Please help! Namaste 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-18-2006 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com