Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2010, 12:40 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default D command CF question

We have a d-control in one room and considering the purchase of a d-command for another.

I read through the d-command manual and have a question.
On the d-control we like to flip between tracks mode and groups mode often. We can select the track type or group name from the soft keys, and then when we flip between tracks and group using the cf button. [bleep]The cf mode remembers the last cf view we had, so if we switch back and forth between, for example, vcas and dialogue group, we just have to hit the corresponding cf button. [bleep]This is an essential part of our work flow.

Does this work the same on d-command?

Because in the manual it explains that to view a mix/edit group, you have to press and hold the cf group button, then use the cycle button to choose it. Seems like it takes a little longer, but if it does in fact remember your previous view when just hitting groups or tracks button once, then it seems like it would be okay. Make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:32 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: D command CF question

Are you referring to custom fader groups?
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:35 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: D command CF question

CF groups or Mix/Edit groups. It's really the ability to switch quickly between a specific mix/edit group and a specific track type using a single button press on the "groups" or "tracks" button, just like you can on the d-command.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:37 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: D command CF question

Yes, it remembers what's being viewed when you exit CF mode, so when you press Groups again, it's how you left it. When you press and hold the Groups button until it flashes, you can press the Bank/Cycle button to toggle between Custom groups (console-specific) and PT groups. This is also remembered when you drop out of CF Groups mode.

IHTH.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:04 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: D command CF question

UNO,

hey would you email me at blyons@gcpro.com please? I'll explain in the email (I think you'll like it!) Thanks!
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:53 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: D command CF question

Thank you, sounds like what I want.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:39 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: D command CF question

UNO, I have a used one----I didn't want to say that publically, but there was no way to contact you directly. Please email me if you like, this one is priced to MOVE fast.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2010, 04:26 AM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: D command CF question

This may help show the implementation of mix groups/CF groups on d-command.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Key Command Question. philip888 General Discussion 2 08-26-2010 01:58 AM
Command 8 Question Wyn ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 06-28-2010 06:31 PM
D-command question Bobbysweden ICON & C|24 2 08-04-2009 01:23 AM
Command 8 question Adamsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-22-2004 10:22 AM
Command question Drive d 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-23-2003 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com