Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2010, 10:41 PM
Electrox Electrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 323
Default It's almost here - New Systems

from Avid marketing to my email box - "If you're in the area November 4–7, drop by booth #1018 and say "hi"—you won't want to miss what we'll have in store..." I don't know about you, but this smells to me like the release of whatever TDM systems they have been growing in their darkrooms. AES, not NAMM, is typically where Digidesign released their newest systems. So now we have a possible date...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2010, 11:56 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electrox View Post
from Avid marketing to my email box - "If you're in the area November 4–7, drop by booth #1018 and say "hi"—you won't want to miss what we'll have in store..." I don't know about you, but this smells to me like the release of whatever TDM systems they have been growing in their darkrooms. AES, not NAMM, is typically where Digidesign released their newest systems. So now we have a possible date...
remind me not to tell you any of my secrets....

feel better about yourself now that you've posted this in here?
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2010, 12:04 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

Not happening.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2010, 12:55 AM
airon airon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 547
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

The only stuff they can announce are a new version of Protools, some TDM card addon for the HD Native line, and/or EuCon integration fun for Protools all the current line of controllers/consoles in their lineup.

Personally I think it's the software and EuCon stuff. They've had two years to think about this, so it ought to be big. Let's hope it's not buggy, or this might get flushed down the toilet.
__________________
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2010, 02:19 AM
Electrox Electrox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 323
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

Studiojimi, if you had knowledge that would affect a purchase of thousands of dollars from my friends and myself, even a strong hunch, then yes, I would find that info helpful. That is why Mac Rumors and other sites are valuable. I don't think Avid would send such info as a general email unless they wanted to stir up interest in the fact that they are FINALLY at a trade show again. And I do feel better, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:32 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

You are making assumptions that are not grounded in any fact.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:41 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

I stated here awhile back and I'll state it again....the reason you did not find AVID at a few major tradeshows is that the entire family of companies were in the process of re-aligning themselves, merging their shipping into a single distribution center, and making ONE large, strong company of several lines. It wasn't because they were going away, sales were dying, etc.

As to new hardware---don't expect to see new TDM hardware, don't assume that's what it is. The HD Accel system that exists as it is right now is perfectly capable.

BUT who knows, maybe I'm wrong....
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:47 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

if there is something big coming....

why do the BIG show off thing at AES....
we've all been waiting watching and holding fast
you have our attention AVID

don't put extra money into a pissing contest with other companies

save the money and expense and just release it with better pricing
for the thousands of loyal customers
waiting for something truly professional....this time.

and certainly not another bug filled software release
that many of us buy but don't use

with love and enlightenment,
studiojimi
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:00 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

Man... tough crowd

My "hunchs" are.....

1) OO2/3 next gen
2) New LE software (ADC???)
3) EuCon to PT (Please PLEase PLEASE!!)....

New HD Hardware?? Yep..... oh .... that would be AES 2011 though.....

-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:40 AM
lincol1 lincol1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 406
Default Re: It's almost here - New Systems

+1 on #3 (well #2 as well of course)
__________________
Lincoln Mitchell

www.studiofifty.net

Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad, 10.6.6, 12GB Ram, PT9, Logic 9, Kontakt, East West, VSL, Waves, Sound Toys, IK Multimedia
RME FF UC, Focusrite Octopre mkii, UA LA 610 mkii, MC Transport, Yamaha HS80M, Lauten, AKG, Sure, Blue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new systems with 7.4 rjshama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-07-2008 02:35 AM
can I keep two systems? zunam666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-04-2005 08:56 PM
Digi - What bits are cut off on the LE systems that aren't on the TDM systems? Calvin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-24-2003 09:49 PM
What -No DAE in New HD systems? Rythym Stick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 04-23-2002 03:21 PM
TDM Systems Sofi725 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-28-2002 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com