Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:37 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Why not Midi Playlist View?

I am surprised that Midi doesn't have a Playlist View like Audio Tracks. Does anybody else hope to see this in a future update?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:00 AM
MindDead's Avatar
MindDead MindDead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 179
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I am surprised that Midi doesn't have a Playlist View like Audio Tracks. Does anybody else hope to see this in a future update?

I'd like one too, considering I program better than I play.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:01 PM
TCLguy1 TCLguy1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 344
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I am surprised that Midi doesn't have a Playlist View like Audio Tracks. Does anybody else hope to see this in a future update?
Amen!

t
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:23 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

It was thought of, and is still on the drawing board. Sometimes we're short on cooks in the kitchen!

-tv
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2009, 08:49 PM
TwinSnakes007 TwinSnakes007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SessionKat View Post
It was thought of, and is still on the drawing board. Sometimes we're short on cooks in the kitchen!

-tv
Well, would've been nice to put that into the manual, that playlists dont work with midi. That's kind of a HUGE selling point for me and it would've saved me an hour of trying to figure why it wasnt working.

It's not obvious for a newbie that its only for audio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:44 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

I also noticed that Loop recording doesn't store midi regions into a new playlist like audio does. I hope to see all the same functionality that Audio has with the midi regions in a future update.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2009, 11:33 AM
TwinSnakes007 TwinSnakes007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 128
Lightbulb Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I also noticed that Loop recording doesn't store midi regions into a new playlist like audio does. I hope to see all the same functionality that Audio has with the midi regions in a future update.
Well, that's not exactly true Dizzi. You probably have mirror midi editing turned on when your loop recording. Try disabling mirror midi editing and see if that fixes it. I've been midi loop recording all weekend.

It is really a nice workflow. I can just set a 1 or 2 bar loop and jam til I get it right. PT will keep creating midi regions for as long as you loop. Then you can right-click on the region and click matches, then select the different takes to audition, PT will replace the current region in the edit window with the one you select from matches. (Note: You probably will want to add some Quantize real-time midi property when auditioning your takes. Keyboard shortcut: Alt-4.) Once you find the one you want, you can delete the takes you dont need anymore, or keep them. I delete mine because I usually do 20 takes just to make sure I'll get a keeper. No, it doesnt have all the features of the "playlists", but its an alternative until we get midi playlists.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2009, 02:15 PM
TCLguy1 TCLguy1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 344
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Yeah, but what about when you are using a percussion menu for example with different sounds layed out on the keyboard and you want to hear your previous pass to be able to jam along with it...you're going to have to stop. Arm new track, get back into it...I love cycle record for Midi with auto create midi tracks in logic without stopping ever...its fast! and you don't have to move your hand away from the keyboard to operate the mouse and get back...
I hope this will improve in future updates...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2009, 08:03 AM
TwinSnakes007 TwinSnakes007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCLguy1 View Post
Yeah, but what about when you are using a percussion menu for example with different sounds layed out on the keyboard and you want to hear your previous pass to be able to jam along with it...you're going to have to stop. Arm new track, get back into it...I love cycle record for Midi with auto create midi tracks in logic without stopping ever...its fast! and you don't have to move your hand away from the keyboard to operate the mouse and get back...
I hope this will improve in future updates...
Not exactly. The only time you have to stop is with audio. You can go in and out of record with midi, and also arm/disarm without stopping the transport, this feature along with dynamic transport is a nice worklfow for midi in PTL's. They demonstrate this feature in one of the PTL 7.4 DigiTV videos.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2009, 10:19 PM
ToriTait ToriTait is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Why not Midi Playlist View?

Yes... I had assumed from the promotional videos and from the "what's new" docs, that playlist track compositing was MIDI and audio - that is ALL track types. I spent quite a while before I realized that it didn't work for MIDI. And while the "Alternate Takes" MIDI stuff works just fine, it is not as transparent as audio playlists - and it is a pain that there are two different workflows...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is there no playlist view for midi? usastra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 12-08-2019 11:28 AM
Pro Tools 8 Midi Playlist View joe_04_04 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 10-10-2011 08:10 AM
Editting Midi Takes in a Playlist View? asounds Pro Tools 9 2 09-12-2011 01:06 AM
Bug in playlist view mrjohn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-28-2010 11:45 AM
PT8 - No Playlist View for MIDI Tracks? weezerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-23-2008 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com