Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-18-2019, 06:11 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,774
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
do you mean that the same AAX plug in
placed inside the HDX card dsp chip and on the D.a.w. cpu ,

sound identical ?
(64 bit)

still cannot understand why the plug ins manufacturers
do not specify : AAX-Dsp & AAX-Native
Yes - they sound the same.
And you've also been told that if a plugin supports aax-dsp it will say so. Just as that if a plugin just says aax you can assume it's aax native and NOT aax-dsp. Those are the conventions used.

edit for additional:
Do you now have an HDX system or are you just exploring options? Near as I can tell you have or had an old TDM system and you don't have any system info in your profile. Given a decent powerful system HDX dsp is no longer needed other than if you need more than the 32 I/O a native system can give.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 11-18-2019 at 06:19 AM. Reason: added questions about system
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2019, 07:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,220
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
other than if you need more than the 32 I/O a native system can give.
and even then HDN gives 64 i/o
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2019, 01:34 PM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 120
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Yes - they sound the same.
And you've also been told that if a plugin supports aax-dsp it will say so. Just as that if a plugin just says aax you can assume it's aax native and NOT aax-dsp. Those are the conventions used.

edit for additional:
Do you now have an HDX system or are you just exploring options? Near as I can tell you have or had an old TDM system and you don't have any system info in your profile. Given a decent powerful system HDX dsp is no longer needed other than if you need more than the 32 I/O a native system can give.
w o w

but it is the same thing for the master LR bounce ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2019, 01:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,774
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
w o w

but it is the same thing for the master LR bounce ?
It doesn't matter where the plugins are used.


Why haven't you addressed my second paragraph? What I'm getting at is do you have a real need to find out this info for a purchase or what? We don't mind helping people but I'm getting the sense something else is going on here. What is so hard to understand about what we've been telling you?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-19-2019, 03:55 AM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 120
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
It doesn't matter where the plugins are used.


Why haven't you addressed my second paragraph? What I'm getting at is do you have a real need to find out this info for a purchase or what? We don't mind helping people but I'm getting the sense something else is going on here. What is so hard to understand about what we've been telling you?
many thanks again to all !

i googled a bit about AAX ,
before start the thread

and as no clear info found about
i asked here because i got that this still is the best place

a friend that own an HD pcie rig
some week ago got an used native rig

and he say me that note differences between the HD cards rig and the Native rig
(same session and bit+sample sate)

he say that sound better with HD cards
and plug ins too…



ps:
no drugs , spirits , …girls in "heat"… ,
between the test….
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-19-2019, 06:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,774
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
many thanks again to all !

i googled a bit about AAX ,
before start the thread

and as no clear info found about
i asked here because i got that this still is the best place

a friend that own an HD pcie rig
some week ago got an used native rig

and he say me that note differences between the HD cards rig and the Native rig
(same session and bit+sample sate)

he say that sound better with HD cards
and plug ins too…



ps:
no drugs , spirits , …girls in "heat"… ,
between the test….
Your response is not understandable. I gather English is not your native language right?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-20-2019, 03:00 PM
zavid zavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Studio
Posts: 120
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Your response is not understandable. I gather English is not your native language right?

please can you post what you do not understand ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-20-2019, 03:28 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,774
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavid View Post
please can you post what you do not understand ?
I don't have to as you already did that. I can't understand a word of what you wrote in your last post here - it makes no sense. Like I said/asked it seems like English is not your native language and you may be working through a translator program and there's nothing wrong with that (or there's something else going on). But you refuse to answer that. It may be a simple thing of not understanding the English idioms or what - I don't know.

I'm tired of trying to parse what you write.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-21-2019, 08:47 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 248
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

Its not hard to unsterstand, what Zavid wrote.


A friend has a HD PCIe TDM system and got a HD native rig. He says, that the session, he used, sounds better with is HD TDM hardware, than with the HD Native rig. Even the tdm plugins are superior over their AAX counterparts.


For me, this is a myth. I have a very long history with Digidesign and later Avid...
For me there is no difference between TDM and AAX. I used the Sonnox Plugins TDM and later AAX DSP...(no difference). Or another example, the MDWEQ; No difference between the tdm version and the aax one...With the Avid stock plugins, its the same. For me HDX and AAX DSP has one big advantage. Low latency... You can track and record over HDX with plugins in low latency. If you are only mixing, HD Native is very nice, cause of the I/O.
At last, if someone says AAX, he means AAX Native. Today AAX DSP has no priority for the Plugin Manufacturers. We still have Sonnox, McDSP, Plugin Alliance, Cranesong, Softtube (old plugins, but the new ones are all native)... and some more like Flux Audio, but we see,that HDX is dying and Avid is not Universal Audio with their DSP plattform... UA pushes their DSP solution with their own plugins...Avid, hmm... does nothing. No new plugins, no special things for HDX. The promised upgraded Voice Count of HDX cards will never come... For me HDX is dead...still useful, but dead in terms of development... There won´t be anything new about HDX...And the prime time is over... TDM was great and HDX is the end...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-21-2019, 09:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,220
Default Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?

It all comes down to gain staging. TDM as a 48bit fixed-point architecture was very strict, because once you went over you immediately heard it and could fix it on the spot. AAX on the other hand is 64bit floating-point and going over is much more subtle -- it means you can smear your sound without noticing and it all adds up. Eventually your sound sucks if your gain staging is wrong.

Sonnox on the other hand -- pls correct me if I am wrong -- has implemented their plugins to be "TDM compatible". Which means they clip the signal internally if you go over. IOW using Sonnox plugins your gain staging is likely better than using other AAX plugins and when your gain staging is good your plugins sound like they should. Not better, but they sound worse if you go over and don't care.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: McDSP Analog Channel Native V5, 6020 Ultimate EQ Native V5 soundroad Buy & Sell 31 03-21-2016 07:03 AM
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 09:48 AM
FLUX Elixier V3 AAX Native & DSP + Freeware Bittersweet V3 AAX Native & DSP released psmworld AAX Plug-ins 18 01-31-2013 05:16 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com