Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2019, 04:09 PM
jgulyas jgulyas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 4
Default PT10 + X32 Live SD Card


Hi folks,

1st post here and I have an issue I've never come across before...

Recently got the X-Live SD recorder card put into my console so I could track shows, etc. without bringing my laptop. All worked great; recorded tracks to the SD card, pulled the card out and brought it home, stuck it in a card reader, opened a session in '10, imported the audio, and poof 16 tracks popped up on my screen. Sweet!

I do my mixing for a couple hours, set routings, groups, panning, all the fun stuff we love to do, then save and quit. The next day I open up the same session to do some more mixing, and the only thing I can hear is the kick drum... On. Every. Single Track. I still see the original waveforms from all the other tracks, but the only sound is kick drum, and the only thing on the meters is kick drum.

WTH is going on?? Is there something I need to do with the wav file from the SD card? I know it records all 32 tracks to one file (if enabled) then splits them out somehow but I never read about the need to do that, especially since all 16 tracks I recorded already showed up.

Anyone come across this before??

Thanks!

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2019, 08:22 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,061
Default Re: PT10 + X32 Live SD Card

Hi. Welcome.


Can't really help you, but a couple of questions:
I assume you copied the file(s) to a drive and imported from there and not directly from the SD card without the "Copy files" option enabled? What do you see in the Audio Files folder of the session?

Was the kick drum on track 1?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2019, 12:37 PM
jgulyas jgulyas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT10 + X32 Live SD Card

Hi Ben,

I imported the WAV file directly into PT from the Import function (Shift + Cmd + I) and selected "Convert" from the "Import Audio" menu so PT would place a copy of the WAV in the Audio Files folder.

Audio Files folder shows one or two WAV files (dependent on length of time recorded, as is default from the X32).

Kick drum is Channel 1.

See pictures...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Hi. Welcome.


Can't really help you, but a couple of questions:
I assume you copied the file(s) to a drive and imported from there and not directly from the SD card without the "Copy files" option enabled? What do you see in the Audio Files folder of the session?

Was the kick drum on track 1?
Attached Images
File Type: png 1.png (55.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png 2.png (43.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (59.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2019, 01:25 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,061
Default Re: PT10 + X32 Live SD Card

To me, this sounds like PT is not handling the file format right, at least when reopening the session, and it plays the whole file from the start on every track.
If you had selected all clips on all tracks when you had it working in the first place, and selected "Consolidate", PT would have made 16 new wav files, and those would have opened fine next time.
So, as a fix, I suggest you do the process again, new session, import the x32 file, consolidate all 16 clips, close session, open your session with 16 kick drums and import your newly created 16 wavs from that session's Audio Files folder. Select Copy Files in import dialog.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 11-01-2019 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2019, 09:50 AM
jgulyas jgulyas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT10 + X32 Live SD Card

Ok.. I don't know why that worked, but it did.

I imported the original WAV from the SD card into PT; Renamed all the tracks as they're supposed to be; Consolidated them as instructed, which created new Clips of each instrument. I saved the session, closed it, opened it back up, and all the clips were still there. Then I deleted the original WAV from the Clips and it seems to still be working.

We'll see if it continues to work... and if my old 2007 MacBook Pro continues to function.

Thanks for your help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
To me, this sounds like PT is not handling the file format right, at least when reopening the session, and it plays the whole file from the start on every track.
If you had selected all clips on all tracks when you had it working in the first place, and selected "Consolidate", PT would have made 16 new wav files, and those would have opened fine next time.
So, as a fix, I suggest you do the process again, new session, import the x32 file, consolidate all 16 clips, close session, open your session with 16 kick drums and import your newly created 16 wavs from that session's Audio Files folder. Select Copy Files in import dialog.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 along with Studio Live 24.4.2 YYR123 Pro Tools 10 27 04-24-2013 10:14 PM
Live recording from Venue Profile possible with Digico UB Madi & PT10 CPTK? briancares VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-11-2012 09:04 AM
Download Upgrade pt9 to pt10:invalid zip code when checkout (I live in Taiwan) klyg Pro Tools 10 0 10-27-2011 06:12 AM
Digi 001 with a Layla Card & SB Live? Doc H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-10-2001 07:35 PM
It must be the sb live! card causing the problem!!!! notengo nombre Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 11-27-2000 06:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com