Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-02-2019, 07:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

I am not getting into policies but surely everyone understands they need to sort out that HDX thing first; even though they are working with many other things at the same time, the big buzz about next version will likely be HDX voice upgrade.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-02-2019, 11:28 AM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 524
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I am not getting into policies but surely everyone understands they need to sort out that HDX thing first; even though they are working with many other things at the same time, the big buzz about next version will likely be HDX voice upgrade.
Honestly your unwillingness to understand why most of feel we are being ripped off is frustrating. So if your not going to get into policies maybe stop defending?
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-02-2019, 11:32 AM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 75
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Honestly, I think we are very due for an update... if only to make Pro Tools 64-bit ready for Catalina (because it's not)!!!!!

Pro Tools app is full of 32-bit Quicktime components still. And Avid Link has 32-bit components inside it as well.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pro Tools.jpg (61.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Avid Link.jpg (25.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | Mac Pro (2013) 6-Core | Sierra 10.12.6 | Focusrite Red 4Pre
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | MacBook Pro (2018) i5 | Mojave 10.14.5
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-02-2019, 11:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Not defending. IMO Avid should have made their mind regarding this HDX voice thing half a year ago. I'm just waiting what happens, nothing more. If they cannot make a release that works with all cards and they spend a whole year doing just that, they fail in so many ways it would have been far lesser defeat to just accept some pct of cards come back because of the firmware update.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-02-2019, 04:47 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 189
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

HDX voices is paramount, otherwise, it's just been a year of bug fixes for our subscription, which is weak.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30Ē Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-02-2019, 05:42 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Not defending. IMO Avid should have made their mind regarding this HDX voice thing half a year ago. I'm just waiting what happens, nothing more. If they cannot make a release that works with all cards and they spend a whole year doing just that, they fail in so many ways it would have been far lesser defeat to just accept some pct of cards come back because of the firmware update.


Then they should realise they screwed up and perhaps give everyone an extra year or 6 months extra on their plans.

It is extremely tiring seeing defense for a company that quite frankly, is taking the mickey with these plans that we have to pay for in advance with the promise of feature updates.

If they canít deliver, then thatís on them. I canít take an extra fortnight to complete a job because Iím encountering difficulties and then bill my client for the extra work. Why should they?

Iím sorry, but it doesnít work that way. They get away with it because of the reinstatement fee that no one wants to pay, thus they keep you hooked. Eventually, this wonít be enough and they will lose customers... perhaps in droves. At that point, itís too late.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-02-2019, 09:59 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,673
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

If only avid would not have to chase apples tail all the time they might have the ability to actually have forward thinking designs instead of trailing all the time, chasing the latest Apple update
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-02-2019, 11:31 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
If only avid would not have to chase apples tail all the time they might have the ability to actually have forward thinking designs instead of trailing all the time, chasing the latest Apple update


Iím sorry, but that really isnít the case at all. No other developer has the issues that AVID have with OS updates.

Yes, itís is extremely old code base but honestly, thereís apps out there that are getting on to 10-15 years of existence and they do not have these issues. Appleís Mac OS has dramatically changed in that time and yet these developers donít have anywhere near the issues, if any, that AVID has with Pro Tools.

Iíve said this so many times, but they needed to rewrite the app from the core a long time ago. If it meant having concurrent teams with one rewriting and one updating/maintaining the current version, so be it. This is the cost of being in business.

At the end of the day, this is a large organisation, not a mom and pop one man operation.

Iíve used this software for almost 25 years now. Do I want to switch? No. But enough with the excuses. This is solely an AVID issue and they need to address it.

Iím curious. Not being a video guy, does Media Composer suffer the same issues Pro Tools does?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-03-2019, 04:24 AM
foxes's Avatar
foxes foxes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Then they should realise they screwed up and perhaps give everyone an extra year or 6 months extra on their plans.

It is extremely tiring seeing defense for a company that quite frankly, is taking the mickey with these plans that we have to pay for in advance with the promise of feature updates.

If they canít deliver, then thatís on them. I canít take an extra fortnight to complete a job because Iím encountering difficulties and then bill my client for the extra work. Why should they?

Iím sorry, but it doesnít work that way. They get away with it because of the reinstatement fee that no one wants to pay, thus they keep you hooked. Eventually, this wonít be enough and they will lose customers... perhaps in droves. At that point, itís too late.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
+1000
__________________
iMac 27" Late 2013 3.5Ghz i7 32GB Ram 3TB HDD, 1TB SSD Samsung 850 Pro, High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro tools 2018.7 & 2019.6 installed. UAD Apollo 8 Quad & Satellite Quad, Reason 10.4, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, plugins & VI's by practically everyone. G-Tech Mini 1TB HDD, 3 x 1TB Glyph GT050Q, Lacie Rugged 500GB & several assorted drives.....lots & lots of hardware synths & outboard

https://soundcloud.com/2b3productions
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-03-2019, 10:51 AM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxes View Post
An update is got to be due this month, thatís what weíre paying for! Avid are taking the pee, they are pushing many including myself to another DAW completely.
When they doubled the price, I updated for 2 more years at the original price, and I started using Studio One for all new work. No problems, no crashes, I've mostly gotten used to the S1 workflow. Then I had to go back to PT for an older project. Latency was a bit high, so I switched my sample buffer. Crash!

I don't work with other studios, so PT compatibility is not important to me. I think I'm pretty much done with Pro Tools. Paying for updates that bring nothing new, and dealing with crashes, not to mention the high CPU load that I don't get in S1. Pro Tools just makes no sense for me any more.
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2019.10 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Avid S6 1 10-21-2017 12:28 PM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 02:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 04:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 02:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 03:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com