Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:26 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,906
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetonica View Post
(and I need to find a way to explain to my wife why spending more money on music gear is a good thing)
I just tell mine "It's music to your ears".
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-14-2019, 08:00 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
I just tell mine "It's music to your ears".
Good ol kiwi girls....
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-23-2019, 01:10 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,282
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

So how do you guys get round Melodyne running? Do you run HEAT into Melodyne? Or do you end up having to print Melodyne? I was just trying it out (again) and ended up swearing at it (again).
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-23-2019, 02:19 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

I run my audio in to it with HEAT off


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-24-2019, 04:13 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,282
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I run my audio in to it with HEAT off


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So you end up with non-heated vocals with everything else heated? Kind of whacks the finely tuned balances out, no? Or maybe you're running Heat from the get-go on everything except the vocals? Still can't really get my head around the best way of implementing it.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-25-2019, 12:36 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 227
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
So you end up with non-heated vocals with everything else heated? Kind of whacks the finely tuned balances out, no? Or maybe you're running Heat from the get-go on everything except the vocals? Still can't really get my head around the best way of implementing it.


I record into melodyne with it bypassed, do my tuning then commit the track to a new track and enable heat.


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-26-2019, 09:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

HEAT available for standard software as of 2019.6
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-26-2019, 12:06 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 742
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

I’ve never used Heat and probably won’t now as it’s usage has been extended to Vanilla PT with prices set to rise when the principals of supply & demand kick in. Everything I’ve seen about heat is that it’s a distortion/harmonic type plugin to make digital sound more like analog tape. I have used other plugins with good success to achieve similar results. I use Wave’s Kramer Tape and sometimes the Pie Compressor with one customer paying the best compliment of “Now that sounds like a record!” after tweakin’ them a little. As it probably is with Heat a little goes a long way sometimes, any effect type plugin is the same.

I started my professional audio career over 40 yrs ago mastering vinyl for major labels and within two yrs I was running a 16 track studio along with it with me being the maintenance tech also. I was 18-20 yrs old through this period, a full plate indeed. I kinda knew what I was doing as I had been doing it since I was 15 and at 18 I had joined the US Navy and was offered entry into their Nuclear Program choosing Cryptology Technician Maintenance instead (badazz electronics training fer’ a year & a half), but was injured on active duty and discharged within two months of entering.

One of the things I learned during this period was setting up my Scully 2” 16 track was that properly biased Scotch 250 at 15 ips, +3 over 185 nW/m and let it “Spank” a little sounded record ready with little EQ or compression when it came time to mix. The only thing was Memphis was an Ampex 456 town with all the studios sharing the same Ampex rep (if one studio got in a bind and needed a roll or two of 2” or 1/4” in a pinch, no problem and no re-biasing needed). Just too hard to re-bias a 16 track dinosaur for local and sometimes low budget projects, but when something out of town came in on 250 I liked it! Some of these plugins offer behind the panel adjustments offer bias, hi/lo EQ adjustments also. Again, just a little is all that’s needed sometimes to make something shine.

Thing is it’s all just another color on yer’ palette, there are so many others out there now and just because you got it don’t mean you gotta use it. Train yer’ ears to listen to the “Small” differences an effect makes before going whole hog on it. Sometimes doing this you may or may not like what it does, but remember what it does ‘cause it might be just what you need on something else and with 384 voices available there’s always something else.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:14 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 760
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
HEAT available for standard software as of 2019.6
Mmmmm so we’re getting another update this year.... any ETA on that Freak
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:44 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: To HEAT or not to HEAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
So you end up with non-heated vocals with everything else heated? Kind of whacks the finely tuned balances out, no? Or maybe you're running Heat from the get-go on everything except the vocals? Still can't really get my head around the best way of implementing it.


No. Once I’ve tuned I then import the audio and turn HEAT on the track


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEAT Mark Dann Buy & Sell 3 12-11-2014 08:42 PM
Heat $175. Mark Dann Buy & Sell 5 11-19-2014 08:15 AM
Does comping to a Heat enabled track print the Heat? joshdrucker macOS 0 03-12-2014 11:17 PM
re heat on 10 2224 macOS 9 08-12-2012 06:11 PM
Heat? or Something Like it? Numi Pro Tools 9 24 06-11-2011 07:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com