Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2018, 09:04 AM
Sergius's Avatar
Sergius Sergius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 204
Default RAM or Processor

I'm trying to get new iMac. If you had to choose between more RAM or more processor, which is most beneficial for running Pro Tools?

For the new Pro Tools 2018, is 16GB RAM ok, minimum or must have 32GB?

Thanks
__________________
PT 2018.7.0 w/Focusrite 2i2
iMac i7 2.93GHz / 8GB RAM / Mac OS X 10.3.6

http://store.cdbaby.com/Artist/SergioEscalona

www.reverbnation.com/sergioescalona

https://soundcloud.com/sergius9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2018, 09:19 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,710
Default Re: RAM or Processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergius View Post
I'm trying to get new iMac. If you had to choose between more RAM or more processor, which is most beneficial for running Pro Tools?

For the new Pro Tools 2018, is 16GB RAM ok, minimum or must have 32GB?

Thanks
can you provide some more Specs for the iMac you are looking at please ??? if you are looking at i5 i would go for i7 .. that sort of thing

1) were you or your singer ever in a Rush Copy Band !!! nice voice ..
2) if you can Never upgrade the RAM in this computer after your purchase, i would get more RAM ..
3) if you CAN add more RAM later YOURSELF than go for the higher processor

just a couple thoughts ..

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2018, 09:21 AM
Goobs's Avatar
Goobs Goobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 131
Default Re: RAM or Processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergius View Post
I'm trying to get new iMac. If you had to choose between more RAM or more processor, which is most beneficial for running Pro Tools?

For the new Pro Tools 2018, is 16GB RAM ok, minimum or must have 32GB?

Thanks
Go with an i7 processor, without question.

Regular (as opposed to Pro) iMacs' RAM is user-upgradeable.
__________________
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), 4.0 GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3, 500 GB Flash Storage SSD, macOS 10.13.6
Pro Tools|Ultimate 2019.6, Logic Pro 10.4.6, Nuendo 10.2, Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Reason 11, Live 10.1, Digital Performer 10.01, Studio One 4.5.4, Waveform 10.2.1, Reaper 5.982, WaveLab Pro 9.5.50
Waves Horizon/Diamond 10.0.0.3, Melodyne 4.2.3, iZotope Post Production Suite 3.0.2, iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1, Soundtoys 5.3
Apogee Quartet, Eleven Rack, 003, Command|8, OWC Thunderbolt 2 Dual-Drive Dock, OWC Mercury Electra 480 GB 6G SSD, OWC Mercury Elite Pro 250 GB 7200 RPM HDD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2018, 12:04 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 265
Default Re: RAM or Processor

...And stay away from fusion drives. Get the largest flash drive you can afford.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 processor performance better than 2 processor dirtdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-29-2006 08:30 PM
Dual processor Mac vs. Single processor ? gtrplyr1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-26-2004 11:12 AM
Single Processor Vs Dual Processor Mac Alagu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 03-13-2004 12:18 PM
newbie needs help---dual processor vs. single processor G4 andtsorn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 05-13-2003 06:05 PM
G4 (1 processor) vs G4 dual processor lgs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-06-2000 06:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com