Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2015, 01:29 PM
Placid casual Placid casual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: People's republic of Wrexham
Posts: 17
Default BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Hello - totally new to home recording - any help appreciated!!!

I am running -

Laptop PC - hp pavilion
Windows 8.1
Intel(R)core (TM) processor i54200 CPU (8GB, 64bit)
Pro tools express
Akai EIE pro

I also have a set of Roland TD9's and a launchkey and a couple of guitars.

I understand PTE isn't compatible with MIDI controllers - so programming drums with the paintbrush thing is incredibly tedious. I've heard I can make beats (not use pre-sets) in programmes like Ezdrummer or BFD3 - which a mate told me is best - is this compatible with PTE?

Also - wanting to get a better guitar sound on PTE - the same mate told me GTR3 is good. Is this compatible?

I am into psych/krautrock, melodic song writing

Cheers again!!!!
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2015, 08:55 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Yes, I believe they should all work:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/faq/en436171
Q: Is Pro Tools Express compatible with third-party AAX and RTAS plug-ins?
A: Yes, Pro Tools Express supports AAX Native (32-bit), RTAS, and AudioSuite plug-ins from Avid and our development partners. You can find these in our Plug-in Finder.

BFD, EZDrummer and GTR3 all have RTAS versions available.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2015, 09:23 AM
Placid casual Placid casual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: People's republic of Wrexham
Posts: 17
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Thanks for the response Joel - appreciate it.

Unfortunately I don't know what RTSA means - I am guessing that its a particular version of the programme that I'd need to get.

I'll look into it
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2015, 10:18 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,074
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Placid casual View Post
Thanks for the response Joel - appreciate it.

Unfortunately I don't know what RTSA means - I am guessing that its a particular version of the programme that I'd need to get.

I'll look into it
RTAS is a plugin format used by PTE and PT 9/10 aswell but has been replaced in Pro Toos 11 with AAX64bit so if your version works with RTAS then check the plugins developers websites and see if they support that format for your plugins.

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2015, 10:24 AM
Placid casual Placid casual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: People's republic of Wrexham
Posts: 17
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Thanks Christopher - I think it might be time for me to upgrade from PTE to a full version of PT

So I'll buy the plugins in a format that'll be compatible with the full version of PT I think

Ta
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2015, 11:56 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,074
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Placid casual View Post
Thanks Christopher - I think it might be time for me to upgrade from PTE to a full version of PT

So I'll buy the plugins in a format that'll be compatible with the full version of PT I think

Ta
Good idea and a lot of the older RTAS versions are free or very low cost to update into AAX64 bit for Pro Tools 11

Check the developers of your plugins what it states regarding updating to AAX64 bit or if the download is free for existing users. Lot of them are free updates so good luck and let us know if you need any further assistance down the road

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2015, 01:41 PM
Placid casual Placid casual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: People's republic of Wrexham
Posts: 17
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

Thanks Christopher -

I don't have any plugins as yet. Was thinking of getting BFD 3 and GTR 3 - as I've struggled to put drum tracks down without a midi controller or get a good guitar sound.

If those plugins aren't going to work and I cant use my Roland drums its time for a pro tools upgrade!!!!

I'll have to work out how to do the upgrade and see if there is any money in the bank for BFD3 and GTR3.

Again - really appreciate your help
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2015, 01:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,074
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

You are more than welcome

Lot of times there are trial versions so you can make sure the plugins and instruments works with your setup before you spend th money so look into that aswell beforehand and you know you can demo PT11 aswell here:

http://www.avid.com/Trial/ProTools

You do need the new ilok2 key in order to demo PT11 and thats a $40-ish purchase so when its time to look into this don't forget that ilok2 key


Its a FULL VERSION and works exacly like the paid version for 30 days so when you are looking into an upgrade make sure you demo PT11 so you know your computer and interface etc works well before you pull the trigger.

All the best
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2015, 02:04 PM
Placid casual Placid casual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: People's republic of Wrexham
Posts: 17
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

That's great advice. Will do - thanks!!
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2015, 03:01 PM
Michael Zull Michael Zull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 249
Default Re: BFD3 and Waves gtr 3 on PTE

You can demo any and all of the Waves plugins, so do so before you buy. When buying Waves plugins, always check the "Specials" section of their site for what is currently on sale. They regularly have bundles and individual plugs on sale from 25% to 75% off or more of the retail price. For instance, I picked up the Sound Design Suite on sale for $400 bucks, which retails at $1400.

http://www.waves.com/bundles/sound-design-suite

It's a pretty darn good starting point for a plugin collection, with over 30 plugins, including GTR3. I've seen that bundle go on sale a couple times over the last 3 or 4 months. Keep your eyes peeled and you can get Waves stuff cheap.

Also, if you need a good guitar modeler, check out Scuffham S-Gear. I demo'd it and bought it a couple hours later, it's that good. The full version is only 100 bucks and you can demo it for 15 days before you decide.

http://www.scuffhamamps.com/product/s-gear
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 audio dropouts when recording BFD3 and other virtual instruments yeloop Pro Tools 11 3 12-24-2013 05:45 PM
BFD3 Demo Now Available Southsidemusic AAX Plug-ins 1 12-10-2013 06:23 PM
BFD3 pre-order musicman691 AAX Plug-ins 251 10-30-2013 01:39 PM
FXpansion BFD3 is coming... Benoni The Drum Room 13 09-30-2013 12:17 PM
Plugs Advice: Sony vs Waves - Sonalksis vs Waves? John J. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-08-2005 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com