Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-06-2013, 03:21 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

Quote:
Originally Posted by simproaudio View Post
Dear Friends,

It turned out to be an application that was causing my Pro Tools 11 to crash on startup. The application is Razer Synapse 2.0, a tool for tweaking my Razer mouse and keyboard. After unistalling of Razer Synapse 2.0, Pro Tools is working, ... reinstall and it crashes again....no idea why it is causing it!

Hope this helps somebody who will run into this problem.

Such a relief!
Thanks for reporting back in with that, it very well help someone else.

I did a quick search on Razer Synapse 2.0, and did find a support FAQ on their site: www.razersupport.com/software/synapse2/
...but nothing that jumped out at me regarding interfering with other Mac apps. The site was so hard to read, nothing jumped out period, guess I'm too old.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-03-2013, 04:56 PM
ChristopherDoucet ChristopherDoucet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Park City Utah
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

I am having the same issue.

Lost 2 weeks trying to figure out what was wrong. Have you found a solution? Did you just get a new mouse?

Do you happen to know if you can program in all the mouse keys without using the SYNAPSE software?

Did you get it to work without crashing pro tools?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-03-2013, 02:33 AM
Patheticus Patheticus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 136
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

I'm having this same problem, but with Protools 10. Was there ever a fix for this? Or do I need to just return this mouse?
__________________
KC

www.interlaceaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-01-2014, 01:52 PM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

had this same issue with pt10HD after installing razer synapse 2.0 for an orbweaver. finally did some searching around and found this thread. sounds like no one has found a fix? i guess this orbweaver is going back, which is sad cos i spent all day programming macros for PT. it doesn't seem like there's any other way to program the device without synapse which is really stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-10-2014, 04:30 AM
lostinthehallway lostinthehallway is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

Hey all, I also posted about this problem before. Not sure if it was before you, but if so I wish you would have seen mine and saved yourself some agony

I'd like to just "bump" this thread to see if anyone can chime in about possible solutions. I really liked having some hot keys mapped to my razer naga !

Thanks in advance,

Chris
__________________
Chris

Mid 2010 Macbook Pro 7,1, 2.4ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8gb 1067mhz ram, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, Mbox 3 Pro,
Pro Tools 11.0.2
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-10-2014, 12:42 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,167
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

On PC try X-Mouse Button Control instead of the mouse's driver (uninstall the mouse software).

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-16-2014, 04:20 PM
Laerin Laerin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

I had the same problem and so I sent an email to Razer support.
They shortly answered me and now there is a new version of the Synapse software.
So download the latest version and it will work !

(tested with v1.21)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-16-2014, 10:53 PM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 376
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 won't start

I've had the same problem in the past using my Razer Nostromo, seems to have something to do with the cloud service and retrieval of key strokes/macros, anyhow, short term I was able to fix this on my old system by reverting to a working clone (always a good idea) and turning off/logging out of the Synapse control panel, anyhow...

Late last week I took delivery of my new Mac Pro and with much trepidation proceeded to set up, The Nostromo controller is integral to my work flow so I really had my fingers crossed, all went well but this time I made sure the Synapse software was the very first thing I installed after the OS itself, I then installed PT11, 3rd party plugs etc and voila, the Synapse download my Keys and Macros and everything works! I'm not sure if the install sequence was the key, but ... give it a go.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lion Pro Tools SE won't start on one account, but start on another AndrewGalas Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 2 12-15-2011 12:06 PM
Pro Tools won't start up? calicobumps 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-26-2010 10:28 AM
Pro Tools will not start up. Help khenninger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-12-2007 04:51 PM
Pro Tools won't start on my Mac Ralph Baumgardner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-11-2007 03:24 PM
Pro Tools 5.1 Session Start—Record Start Interval Avid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-18-2001 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com