Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-04-2011, 02:12 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,634
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by struk407 View Post
It's my understanding that if you call 650-731-6100 and choose option 3 you should reach the repairs line at no charge.
That is exactly correct. Anyone in need of a repair should use that option.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2011, 02:20 PM
JNS JNS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 514
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
That is exactly correct. Anyone in need of a repair should use that option.
Thanks, DTS. Now if you can just look into doing something about the ridiculous $79.95 flat-rate phone-support charge I'd appreciate it. How about going back to the old way. Digi makes money and the customer doesn't feel ripped-off. $180/Hr. ($3/Min.) for a support person to be available tells me Digi was making some money by having phone tech-supt. available unless, of course, Digi is paying the phone personnel that much in which case I would like to apply for a support position. As it stands right now, you're not making ANY money off of me for support, whereas you did before (and I have had reasons to want to call for help/advice recently).
__________________
HD3 Accel with 2-192s(expanded) and Rosetta 800, PT 8.0.3cs2/10.5.8 on 8-core 2.8 GHz. MacPro with UAD-2 Solo/Duo and Magma Expressbox4 chassis, Sync I/O, Midi I/O, Control 24;
PTLE 8.0cs3 on Dual-core 2.3GHz. G5(PCIe), 003R
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:07 PM
Mr.Ed Mr.Ed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
That is exactly correct. Anyone in need of a repair should use that option.
OK, good to know. Perhaps the website and documentation should reflect this fact.

I still feel a bit burned that a $65,000+ dollar Dcontrol setup only offers 2 Support calls or 10 email tickets for only the first 90 days of registration, hopefully someone will come to there senses about this policy.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:23 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

I remember the days when any Digi purchased (anything) basically bought you one full year of phone support. And the Pro Control came with one year of the Priority Access line.

Those were good times....
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:50 PM
bonfi64 bonfi64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milan italy
Posts: 148
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

incredible the more you pay the less you get, that's why i'm scared about buying top level controller from Avid, for me was enough wait 4 month to get my HD2 rig, when i receive it after two month new interfaces were out, but i know for shure new interfaces are exactly like "legacy" 192
ROBIN HOOD company, steal to rich people and give to poor!!!
that's real democracy!!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:26 AM
backinthelab backinthelab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Getting hardware repaired from Avid direct, how to reach a human without contract

Same kind of problems here in the UK

I bought Extended Hardware warranty and renewed it recently. Used to be able to really easily get things exchanged but this time has been hell. The only humans I can get through to just transfer me to an answerphone somewhere. Obviously I've left numerous messages, no one gets back to you.

It's been three days I've been trying on and off to get through to the right department or waiting for someone to call me back. For a service that I've paid for this is an insult.

When I insured my cat I got a welcome pack with all the numbers to call should she get her head stuck in fencehole, etc. With Avid - nothing. I've not been told what number to call, the old numbers no longer get me through to the right people and whenever I feel like I'm getting closer to speaking to someone about this I end up being asked by a recorded voice for my Avid Support Code which I don't have (or haven't been told anything about).

If anyone out there knows a direct line to call or something then please let me know! You will then be already 100% more helpful than anyone I have paid money to speak to over the last few days.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to locate Avid hardware. Avid Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 (M-Audio KeyStudio 49) azndisast3r Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 09-21-2013 03:31 PM
How to access Avid Support Contract Moviesound Pro Tools 10 3 06-30-2012 10:09 AM
How do you reach Avid to get software (update) to be functional? lanstrad Pro Tools 9 5 09-01-2011 06:39 AM
002R Direct X drivers for Avid original_min 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-09-2007 04:36 PM
OT: The Amazing Human Mind Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-28-2004 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com