Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2016, 05:34 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default 12.4, I confess...

...to be thoroughly underwhelmed.

Here's the deal/disclosure, I gradually left PT after 12 or so years for other DAWs, that do the same thing, better, differently, or easier.
PT has it all, but it's always been dogged the sluggish audio engine, which has been superseded by miles by newer DAWs.

So I got sent 2 PT sessions this month, I tried to use my PT 8,9,10, but they wouldn't open on my oSX 10.10.5 computer setup. So I plumped for the PT12 month hire. I won't be renewing. I had no choice.

Straightaway it still buffers on playback, same errors on the Mac Pro HD/Laptop/Chassis, same errors my friends get, I do a search here, and read that users of 12 are still getting those errors.... yawn...really really basic stuff.

And, amongst other 'wants', there's still no export all tracks/stems feature.

Almost like I'd never been away...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2016, 06:19 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekypaul View Post
...to be thoroughly underwhelmed.

Here's the deal/disclosure, I gradually left PT after 12 or so years for other DAWs, that do the same thing, better, differently, or easier.
PT has it all, but it's always been dogged the sluggish audio engine, which has been superseded by miles by newer DAWs.

So I got sent 2 PT sessions this month, I tried to use my PT 8,9,10, but they wouldn't open on my oSX 10.10.5 computer setup. So I plumped for the PT12 month hire. I won't be renewing. I had no choice.

Straightaway it still buffers on playback, same errors on the Mac Pro HD/Laptop/Chassis, same errors my friends get, I do a search here, and read that users of 12 are still getting those errors.... yawn...really really basic stuff.

And, amongst other 'wants', there's still no export all tracks/stems feature.

Almost like I'd never been away...
Sucks. I'd not renew as well if I had that experience. Thankfully, I don't.

Are you interested in trouble shooting anything? That's what this forum is all about, right?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2016, 07:51 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekypaul View Post
...to be thoroughly underwhelmed.

Here's the deal/disclosure, I gradually left PT after 12 or so years for other DAWs, that do the same thing, better, differently, or easier.
PT has it all, but it's always been dogged the sluggish audio engine, which has been superseded by miles by newer DAWs.

So I got sent 2 PT sessions this month, I tried to use my PT 8,9,10, but they wouldn't open on my oSX 10.10.5 computer setup. So I plumped for the PT12 month hire. I won't be renewing. I had no choice.

Straightaway it still buffers on playback, same errors on the Mac Pro HD/Laptop/Chassis, same errors my friends get, I do a search here, and read that users of 12 are still getting those errors.... yawn...really really basic stuff.

And, amongst other 'wants', there's still no export all tracks/stems feature.

Almost like I'd never been away...
Did you miss the offline bounce facility or track / auxiliary commit?

12.4HD is I have to say, the easiest install and most stable version yet, on both OSX Yosemite on a 2011 MacBook Pro and Windows 10 on a 2015 i7 12 core.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2016, 08:26 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,743
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

you are right, but .. as drew said .. if we can help you get along better with PT so that when the time arises again you will not need to buy Pro-Convert or some other software to try and work between different DAW's ..

usually it is a Plugin issue when things start to go to Hell .. but i am with you when you say PT is sluggish compared to other DAW's ..

friends that use No 3rd party anything have much better performance from PT .. i was a Digi hardware user for ever .. until they opened it all up with PT9 .. at least we are free of that .. but as you say we still could use more stability ..

so if you would like some help .. you have Drew and others to help ..

cheers john



Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekypaul View Post
...to be thoroughly underwhelmed.

Here's the deal/disclosure, I gradually left PT after 12 or so years for other DAWs, that do the same thing, better, differently, or easier.
PT has it all, but it's always been dogged the sluggish audio engine, which has been superseded by miles by newer DAWs.

So I got sent 2 PT sessions this month, I tried to use my PT 8,9,10, but they wouldn't open on my oSX 10.10.5 computer setup. So I plumped for the PT12 month hire. I won't be renewing. I had no choice.

Straightaway it still buffers on playback, same errors on the Mac Pro HD/Laptop/Chassis, same errors my friends get, I do a search here, and read that users of 12 are still getting those errors.... yawn...really really basic stuff.

And, amongst other 'wants', there's still no export all tracks/stems feature.

Almost like I'd never been away...
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2016, 09:13 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

Well, I'm now overwhelmed by the warm remarks!

Thx to Drew Mazurek, 8dB.co.uk, and john1192 for your opening replies.

So I opened one of the 2 sessions. It's audio only, 20 tracks, checker-boarded (it's a compilation), very small amount of fading/crossfades. No elastic. Audio doesn't even run the whole way thru tracks. It's a very very lite session. I'm not running any Avid plugs and there are no 3rd party plugs installed, it's a vanilla install. I'm using a new MacBook Pro. The fastest, 1tb hard drive. And I know about the recommended switch ons and offs and never sleep, etc. (remember, PT have insisted on this for 20 years, so I'm aware).
I get a stop, i can deal with it. There's no client. But my point is it just should not stop so easily, in ANY circumstance.

After a few plays it 'settled down'. So for fun I adjusted a few playback parameters to see what I can get away with. And it was ok, but it should be, shouldn't it?
But It doesn't really matter, because PT does what it always does, namely, that you can have a session that barely registers at 2-3% cpu or HD usage, and it still might stop, now and again.
It did enrage me because I think Avid are lazy, and have not addressed the weakest part of PT. I only needed to syphon off the stems (i bounced offline one by one which was a welcome improvement in 12) and now I'm back to a different DAW.

Overall, I am sure, added up, it's a better PT than ever. But when it does something unwanted, that you only get specifically with PT, I have to wonder...

I am only writing in to the DUC to share this because this does not happen and has not happened to me in about 5 years, which coincidentally was the last time I used PT professionally.

Thx!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2016, 08:39 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

Is your laptop using a Fusion drive?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2016, 08:40 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,743
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

macbook pro do not have Fusion Drives .. i have only seen these in iMac 's ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2016, 08:55 PM
holler holler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 161
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

I don't like Avid all the time, far from, but one must give credit when credit is due. Did you actually try to select your tracks and use bounce? It's a great function and better implemented than I've seen any other DAW do it

br
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2016, 06:10 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Is your laptop using a Fusion drive?
It's the 1tb (super improved) mega fast top of the range MBP.

However, it doesn't matter how powerful your system is, PT STILL throws up (occasionally) the same (playback) errors it always has.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2016, 06:19 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: 12.4, I confess...

Quote:
Originally Posted by holler View Post
I don't like Avid all the time, far from, but one must give credit when credit is due. Did you actually try to select your tracks and use bounce? It's a great function and better implemented than I've seen any other DAW do it

br
There are no DAWs that can't bounce. And implementing it is a no-brainer.

I would like an option (like the other DAWs I now use) to Export All Tracks (effectively Stems), and not have to do it individually. Fairly simple. Been around for years on other DAWs.
If this is now a PT feature and in my 12.4 rush I've missed it, I'd be happy to be told about it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com