Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2012, 09:15 AM
jj5000 jj5000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Default Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or

Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or just run the installer over 9.
I know a fresh install is always better, just wondering if there are any serious issues.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2012, 05:19 PM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or

installing 10 deletes 9... does it?
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2012, 06:18 PM
jj5000 jj5000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or

Okay, that sounds good.
Just maybie a quick fix of the mac permissions after the install (or before?)
I'm assuming all the old plug-ins either roll over or get updated?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2012, 01:49 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or

Quote:
Originally Posted by jj5000 View Post
Okay, that sounds good.
Just maybie a quick fix of the mac permissions after the install (or before?)
I'm assuming all the old plug-ins either roll over or get updated?
What's your set up? Operating system etc. Are all your plugs up to date?
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:01 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or

It only takes about 2 minutes to do a complete (clean) uninstall of Protools. I recommend that, as you're less likely to have problems.

It's also a good idea to repair disk permissions after uninstalling, and after installing 10.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:29 PM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Installing PT 10 - Should I uninstall 9 or

+1 for doing a complete uninstall of 9 before installing 10. I'd even do a reboot. If you read through the problem posts from around the time when 10 was first released you'll see lots of situations where installing 10 with 9 already installed caused trouble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninstall PT Before installing 10.3.3 RCN Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-28-2012 08:50 PM
what uninstall before PT 10 installing flautista Pro Tools 10 5 12-11-2011 07:12 AM
Uninstall 8.04 before installing PT9? xpandnz Windows 1 02-01-2011 12:54 AM
Uninstall 7.3 before Installing 7.4? GuyPicks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2008 07:42 PM
Uninstall 6.4 before installing 6.7? neonknight 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 11-10-2004 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com