Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-22-2011, 09:14 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: The state of bounce

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post

The request for this option is over a decade old, it's been beaten to death over and over and over again. The old Feature Request form is filled with it as is the new IdeaScale and all of the Digidesign/Avid forums and many other audio forums as well. For the foreseable future, Pro Tools will operate only in real time. We deal with it or we move on.

Cheers,
ADC and the ability to use PT on any hardware were decade old heated debates too, but they are here now. Man, folks were getting virtual black eyes in those 50 page debates!!

I think that once the PT engine is rewritten to meet the ever growing demand of VI's then we will be floored by all the other new features that will follow. I'm thinking PT 10 or 11 will bring this about. If Avid can settle the old digidesign dinosaur wars I mentioned earlier then they can do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-24-2011, 04:22 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: The state of bounce

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Do to the TDM underpinnings of Pro Tools offline bounce is impossible.

Get over it or move on.
given that most competitors of pro tools and every other new and up coming DAW have it, it's only natural this topic will keep resurfacing, especially with new users.

so maybe long term pro tools users (like me) should get over that, move on, or, be a little more patient...
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-24-2011, 05:39 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: The state of bounce

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekypaul View Post
given that most competitors of pro tools and every other new and up coming DAW have it, it's only natural this topic will keep resurfacing, especially with new users.

so maybe long term pro tools users (like me) should get over that, move on, or, be a little more patient...
You're right, but on the other hand, new users should use the search function more.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-24-2011, 11:29 AM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: The state of bounce

"a little more patient"

uh, I've been waiting nearly 10 years

(fortunately not holding my breath tho!)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-24-2011, 01:30 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: The state of bounce

Quote:
Originally Posted by joesackic View Post
Is there somewhere I can send Avid a feature request, borderline bug fix request! There is no way it should take this long, especially when a free (at the time) program like reaper is massively out performing my $600 Pro tools investment in such an often used area.
Im shocked...
If you are using outboard reverbs/compressors/eq's while your mixing you can't do a BTD in Reaper either. Plus you still have to check your mix which you also have to do in real time.

These are so many missing functions in Reaper compared to PT9
There is nothing in Reaper that I can't do in PT
Reaper is toy.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-24-2011, 06:44 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: The state of bounce

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
If you are using outboard reverbs/compressors/eq's while your mixing you can't do a BTD in Reaper either.
Good point, which is true for every DAW using outboard gear (external compressors and/or synth modules). However, take outboard gear away then there's a giant user base working entirely ITB that could benefit from the feature. One can't defend not having it, and at the same time it's pointless IMO for one to compare PT to a DAW that has it. It's a nice feature to have, but obviously hasn't stopped all the music being made with PT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current state of MDW EQ v.5 Will Russell AAX Plug-ins 9 02-01-2014 05:08 AM
How About Solid State? Sradio Storage Subsystems 43 04-04-2013 04:40 PM
State Of Confusion Buel Pace General Discussion 6 05-14-2007 01:20 PM
The current state of the HUI?? SKI 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-24-2002 12:38 PM
State of the Industry l anthony johnson General Discussion 29 01-12-2002 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com