Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:49 AM
gstone gstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools??

My 003 Rack arrived and I was origanally going to use my Mac Book Pro for Pro Tools but have decided to get a dedicated machine for it. Below are the specs.. will this work well with the dual processors?

Mac Pro 8-Core Workstation - 2 Quad-Core 2.8GHz Intel Xeon Processors, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT & 16x SuperDrive

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:55 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools??

You will probably want to turn the processor count down to 7 (leaving one for non-realtime system processes) to help RTAS performance.

Other than that, you can not go wrong with a MacPro..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2009, 09:02 AM
ilulilu888 ilulilu888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dreamland
Posts: 304
Default Re: New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools??

i just bought a new mac pro - , Quad core 2.8 , and i am working th all 4 procesor , should i decrease it to 3? would it work even better , i can't imagine what can you do with 8 core.......i run heavy sessions with more then 90 plugins - on 64 buffer size!!!
before i used a g5 single 1.8 , so maybe for me it is really huge , and for 8 core people its standerd ...
__________________
Pro Tools 12HD
HDX 1
Avid HD 8x8x8
Avid Omni HD
MacPro 2.4 Xeon 8 core 24Giga
UAD-2 And most of the UAD plugins
All AAX DSP and Native Plugins (all most)
Tons of Hardware...:)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2009, 09:12 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools??

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilulilu888 View Post
i just bought a new mac pro - , Quad core 2.8 , and i am working th all 4 procesor , should i decrease it to 3? would it work even better , i can't imagine what can you do with 8 core.......i run heavy sessions with more then 90 plugins - on 64 buffer size!!!
before i used a g5 single 1.8 , so maybe for me it is really huge , and for 8 core people its standerd ...
Try it and see. It is common advice here on the forum. I have a 1st gen MacPro, 2x2 core and setting the processor count to 3 did make a difference for me, but my sessions aren't too demanding..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 09:42 AM
gstone gstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools??

Good to know this will work. Thanks for the advice!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm so good at Pro Tools ianbee Pro Tools 10 64 10-13-2013 01:24 PM
new pro tools is not as good mightyduck Pro Tools 10 148 04-06-2012 04:27 PM
003 only good for Pro Tools? ergalthema 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-28-2010 07:22 PM
Good PC for Pro Tools? Under £600 pezking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-03-2009 04:28 AM
Good PSU for Pro Tools PC SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-01-2009 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com