Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2009, 03:41 AM
pezking pezking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 266
Default Good PC for Pro Tools? Under £600

Hey guys,

Any thoughts on this PC: Aldi!

I've done a quick search of the processor on the DUC, and the reports are sparce, with no confirmed good performance, and none bad!

Just for the record - I'm not looking to buy, just potentially suggesting a cheap PC.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2009, 06:50 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,615
Default Re: Good PC for Pro Tools? Under £600

With your budget, building your own would be the best way to go. You can build with everything you need and that PC has some stuff I would skip(in addition to not knowing if the motherboard is compatible. Look at the threads here on self-built systems. A little homework will net you a list of parts that will give solid performance. Asus or intel motherboards, intel Q9550 and 4 gig of RAM are starters. Stay cheap on the video card(onboard video is a "no go"). I use a $37 MSI GeForce 7300LE with a pair of 22" flatscreens. You need 2 hard drives. The system drive can be small980-160gig is plenty). Audio drive can be as big as you like but I stop at 500gig(personal choice). Many Asus boards have working firewire ports(but a conpatible card is cheap anyway). I recommend all SATA drives(including DVD). I would also recommend Windows XP over Vista. While you will get differing opinions, more like XP and it is easier to setup for the "non-genius" (like me).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2009, 04:28 AM
pezking pezking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 266
Default Re: Good PC for Pro Tools? Under £600

Like I said I don't want to buy this machine. Or any machine for that matter. I'm happy with my setup!

I just know that in the UK it is difficult to buy pre-built machines that are compatible with Pro Tools.

The majority of people don't know how or don't want to build their own PC. They just want to go to PC World and buy a compatible machine.

Please bear in mind I know all about the hard drive requirements.

There's also a huge difference between what's available in the States and the UK, and the prices. This particular machine seems to represent great value for money, and looks to be a great starting point for Pro Tools...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm so good at Pro Tools ianbee Pro Tools 10 64 10-13-2013 01:24 PM
new pro tools is not as good mightyduck Pro Tools 10 148 04-06-2012 04:27 PM
003 only good for Pro Tools? ergalthema 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-28-2010 07:22 PM
New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools?? gstone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 09:42 AM
Good PSU for Pro Tools PC SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-01-2009 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com