Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2011, 06:59 PM
End Over End End Over End is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manahawkin, NJ
Posts: 56
Default File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Question:
What exact detailed critical settings need to be observed when moving sessions from mac to windows and vice versa?

I am very new to pro tools (9) yet a master of Sonar on PC only.

A client brought me a pro tools session but on my Win machine the .ptf file extension is not showing up - this was saved on a Mac obviously.


Or mainly why would the file exstension be "greyed out" (not there) on windows when coming over from a Mac?

concise tech talk is in order...

Thanks.
EOE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2011, 08:45 PM
Alexmc1988 Alexmc1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Interesting, I haven't ever had any problems going between Mac and Windows. Just copy the session folder and go. Wish I knew how to help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:54 AM
jntracks jntracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 245
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

well mac doesn't need file extensions to be in the name to determine what kind of file it is. so it's possible that this mac was saving the file with out an extension. you can add it but renaming the file.

the only thing that needs to happen when saving the session file make sure "ensure mac/pc compatibility" is checked.
__________________
-j

www.jntracks.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2011, 04:09 AM
stevedemena stevedemena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jntracks View Post
well mac doesn't need file extensions to be in the name to determine what kind of file it is. so it's possible that this mac was saving the file with out an extension. you can add it but renaming the file.
I think current Macs DO need file extensions to determine what application to use to open a file. (Snow Leopard)
__________________
Steve de Mena
Mac Pro Late 2013, 32GB 6 Core, 10.10.4, PT HD Native 12.1, Apollo Quad TB
MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 - 16GB, PT HD (mixing only)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2011, 12:59 PM
End Over End End Over End is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manahawkin, NJ
Posts: 56
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jntracks View Post
well mac doesn't need file extensions to be in the name to determine what kind of file it is. so it's possible that this mac was saving the file with out an extension. you can add it but renaming the file.

the only thing that needs to happen when saving the session file make sure "ensure mac/pc compatibility" is checked.
Thanks for the tips.
PT9.0.3 on Win error says the file was made in a newer version of PT
this is a PT7.4 file from a Mac.
Renaming the file by adding extension is afail or am I missing something?
And why wouldn't Avid make the files Win/Mac compatible by default ? FAIL

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2011, 01:18 PM
DarylG DarylG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 303
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by End Over End View Post
And why wouldn't Avid make the files Win/Mac compatible by default ? FAIL

Thanks.
That is a very good question. I guess it's just a hang-over from the old days that never got changed. However, if the file is from PT 7.* it is already a bit of a dinosaur. Besides lesson one in using PT engineers are taught to check the PC/Mac compatibility box. Anyone who doesn't' do that is just incompetent, IMO.

D
__________________
ProTools 9.02
2 x Intel Xeon x5675 3.07GHz Hex Core
48GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by End Over End View Post
Thanks for the tips.
PT9.0.3 on Win error says the file was made in a newer version of PT
this is a PT7.4 file from a Mac.
Renaming the file by adding extension is afail or am I missing something?
And why wouldn't Avid make the files Win/Mac compatible by default ? FAIL

Thanks.
As said, since PT7, session folders can move between Mac and PC without issue(God forbid you are still recording in SD II format though). I have had zero problems moving session folders between my LE/PC rig and a friend's Mac/HD setup
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2011, 04:53 PM
End Over End End Over End is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manahawkin, NJ
Posts: 56
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Thanks, All

On which platform is the checkbox for Mac / PC compatibility?
and under which menu.

This subject may allow me to specify my needs when moving files back and forth.

when the sesh doesnt open and everyone is there .....

OK
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2011, 06:32 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: File transfer settings Mac transfer to Windows ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by End Over End View Post
Thanks, All

On which platform is the checkbox for Mac / PC compatibility?
and under which menu.
As albee pointed out, that option is only found on versions prior to PT 7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EQ-II / EQ-III Settings Transfer? bradjacob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 10-24-2008 09:18 AM
MIDI File Transfer - Logic (Mac) to PT (Windows)? EarBud 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-01-2008 06:00 PM
Transfer Plug settings fron Mac to Windows? EGS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-19-2005 06:24 PM
File transfer bet. mac &windows mr.schmitz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-22-2004 11:02 AM
going from 001 windows to hd3 mac - file transfer digi2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-24-2002 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com