Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2009, 04:06 PM
amiller amiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 210
Default My Pencil tool is a Grabber

Hi DUC'ers,

I'm in my first few days of using PT 8.0cs3 (HD3-Mac 8-core 10.5.8) coming from 7.3. First time I tried to use the pencil tool today. Not sure why, but when I zoom all the way in, my cursor changes to the Grabber and won't let me do editing in "freehand" or any other mode. If I zoom out a couple times, it changes to the pencil but won't let me edit (nor would I want to at that zoom level). Am I missing a (PT8) preference here? I'm hoping I'm missing something obvious here... I noticed other Pencil issues on 8 through a search, but not this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2009, 09:41 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,273
Default Re: My Pencil tool is a Grabber

Either your session default lenght is too long, or your audio cam in from an OMF.

Change your session default length to 2 hours, or if from OMF, duplicate that region.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2009, 09:25 AM
mattskelding mattskelding is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: My Pencil tool is a Grabber

I had this when I first upgraded to version 8. On my system it seemed that the pencil tool wouldn't work on any sessions created using version 7. The pencil tool worked fine on new sessions created in version 8.

the problem went away when I imported the tracks from the pre-version 8 session into a new session.

I was using LE8.0cs3 on 10.5.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is is possible to change the shortcuts for the Pencil Tool, Grabber Tool, ETC? jgagne1 macOS 2 09-24-2013 07:46 AM
Get Grabber tool (Object) as part of smart tool? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-13-2010 04:21 AM
Free Hand Pencil Tool Becomes Line Pencil Tool Vogger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-27-2009 10:23 PM
Problems with Grabber Tool & Trim Tool S133 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-05-2008 10:19 PM
What key to toggle between grabber-pencil etc? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-31-2007 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com