Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-11-2011, 08:52 AM
houseroundfile houseroundfile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So. California
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by tequilasy View Post
Thanks for your reply.

The Lion will indicated the Pro Tools 8.05/8.04 is not compatible, and automatically move out some of PT plug-in into the "Incompatible Software" folder, the list below:

DigidesignFireWireMIDI.plugin
DigidesignMbox2MIDI.plugin
DigidesignMIDIIODriver.plugin
DigiDioMidiDriver.plugin

FYI, just tried last night, draw back the plug-in and my M-box 2 and Pro Tools 8.05 can still open, my KeyRig 49 still work and record the play normally, some previous project with video on layer can open and play and convert normally.

I am not a Pro Tools expert but so far not much problem I encounter under my sound work in Pro Tools 8.05 and M-Box 2, hopefully my sharing is useful and someone can explore more.
Where do I put these files back?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-12-2011, 12:57 AM
pablodabdoub pablodabdoub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nogales
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

I am currently running pro tools le 8.0.3 on lion flawlessly all i had to do to get it running is update my mbox 2 drivers to pro tools 9 version which works exactly the same.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-17-2011, 04:58 AM
jbmelby jbmelby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

PTMP 8.0.5 works fine for me with Lion.
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 2.4 GHz, 10 GB RAM, Mac OS 10.7.1, PTMP 8.0.5, M-Audio Firewire 410 (driver version 1.10.3)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:18 AM
nonunderling nonunderling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

I am trying to find any info on installing PT8 on a NEW imac with 10.7 already installed..

Here's whats going on. I ordered a refurbished imac from Apple and was told it would ship with 10.6.x. It didn't and I'm not able to roll it back, so i complained to apple and they sent me a free copy of Logic Express 9, which is cool... but I have PT8 and want to work with it on my new machine.

In searching forums trying to troubleshoot this problem, I am only coming across people who have UPGRADED from 10.6 to 10.7 with PT8 already installed on their system. Some are saying PT8 continues to work..

BUT my specific problem is that I am installing PT8 FRESH on a 10.7 system. Is there anyone with any advice on how to make this happen? Has anyone gotten it to work?

I am able to install PT8 on my system. The install completes and everything seems to be fine. I'm able to launch it and it asks me how I'd like my session set up.. then it crashes before it opens, every time.

On another note, has anyone gotten PT9 to work from a fresh install on 10.7?

Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:36 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonunderling View Post
On another note, has anyone gotten PT9 to work from a fresh install on 10.7?

Thanks for all the help.
9.0.5 was released yesterday with compatibility for Lion.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-18-2011, 08:13 PM
nonunderling nonunderling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

B u m p
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-25-2011, 10:42 AM
soundsurfr soundsurfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Smithtown, NY, USA
Posts: 965
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonunderling View Post
I am trying to find any info on installing PT8 on a NEW imac with 10.7 already installed..

Here's whats going on. I ordered a refurbished imac from Apple and was told it would ship with 10.6.x. It didn't and I'm not able to roll it back, so i complained to apple and they sent me a free copy of Logic Express 9, which is cool... but I have PT8 and want to work with it on my new machine.

In searching forums trying to troubleshoot this problem, I am only coming across people who have UPGRADED from 10.6 to 10.7 with PT8 already installed on their system. Some are saying PT8 continues to work..

BUT my specific problem is that I am installing PT8 FRESH on a 10.7 system. Is there anyone with any advice on how to make this happen? Has anyone gotten it to work?

I am able to install PT8 on my system. The install completes and everything seems to be fine. I'm able to launch it and it asks me how I'd like my session set up.. then it crashes before it opens, every time.

On another note, has anyone gotten PT9 to work from a fresh install on 10.7?

Thanks for all the help.
What version of PT8 are you installing? I was able to run a fresh install of PT8 on my Mac Mini which is running Lion. I first installed PT 8.0. Did NOT attempt to run it. Then dowloaded and installed the 8.0.5 upgrade. Once that was installed, I was able to open PT and run sessions.

I've found that sessions sometimes foul up if you try to open Pro Tools from the session file - better to open Pro-Tools, then choose Open Session from within Pro Tools. Other than that, no issues at all.
__________________
Soundsurfr
MAC Mini, 2.3GHz dual-core i5, 8GB DDR3, 500GB Hard drive, 288MB DDR3 SD RAM
M-Audio Firewire 1814
Yosemite OS
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-27-2011, 08:19 PM
mfavila mfavila is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

i'm about to try it on a fresh install right now, hoping all goes well.
__________________
Mac Pro w/ Lion. PTLE 8.0.5.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-15-2011, 08:28 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

WOW amazing! nice Find, will try that later!
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-12-2011, 12:23 PM
goinggoinggone420 goinggoinggone420 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools LE 8.05 vs OSX Lion

Hey guys I know when I upgraded to Lion my PT 8.0.5 worked great but some other Audio programs had issues loading properly If you have that problem try this...

I was having the same issue with Ableton Live 8.2.6 and Reason 5.1 since I upgraded my OS X from 10.6.8 Snow Leopard to 10.7.2 Lion.

Here was my work around:

1. Download new PT 9 Drivers for your respective hardware here; http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=379411

2. Download PT 8.0.5 Update from here (Click "View Available Downloads");
http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=393663

3. Run PT 9 Driver updater (Restart will be required)
4. Locate this Folder: Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Midi Drivers
5. Rename all and any instance of the following to include a 1 at the end for example (ex. Digidesignfirewiremidi1.plugin):
- Digidesignfirewiremidi.plugin
- Digidiomididriver.plugin
- DigidesignMBox2midi.plugin
- DigidesignMIDIIOdriver.plugin
6.Run PT 8.0.5 LE Updater(Restart will be required)
7. Check to ensure that this folder has both PT Drivers for PT 8 as well as 9: Mac HD>Library>Audio>Midi Drivers

8. Try to Run Ableton and PT make sure everything is working. If not reboot 1 more time and check again. The point is to ensure you have both 8 and 9 versions of the driver plugins in that folder. Keep the old CoreAudio Manager and all should be good!

Hope this helps took me forever to figure it out! Cheers!

Logan


Using
Digidesign 003R
Pro Tools 8.0.5 LE "Not MP"
Mac Mini 3,1 OS X 10.7.2 Lion
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
Pro Tools 8/9/10 w/ Lion DMpro macOS 5 02-20-2012 09:25 AM
pro tools 10 lion chumphries1290 macOS 6 12-13-2011 12:32 AM
Pro Tools 9.0.5 and Lion Set-Up tekis macOS 2 11-26-2011 03:19 PM
Pro Tools 9 with Mac OS X 10.7 LION stevenmackensen macOS 30 07-21-2011 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com