Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-07-2002, 07:32 AM

Default Copy a song section to another part of the arrangement?

Hello,
Does anyone have a method for pasting a song section to another place in the arrangement? ie. using verse 1 as verse 2 in the same track. My difficulty is aligning the pasted copy. There's probably a way to do this a lot easier than how I've been doing it
Thanks for any help,
Chas
Old 10-07-2002, 03:35 PM

Default Re: Copy a song section to another part of the arrangement?

I'm always reluctant to answer a question from work -- I don't have PT or the manual in front of me. And because I'm still a newbie. BUT...

The easiest answer is put the Edit window into Grid mode (see the four modes at upper left of Edit window) so your audio can be precisely selected. Grid mode snaps your cursor to the beat (1/4 notes are the default, I believe). Otherwise you're eyeballing where to click, and that's not good for the kind of repetitive accuracy you're wanting.

For example: select the chorus, starting at beat 1 of measure 09 (your cursor snaps right onto beat 1 if you're in Grid mode). Then copy it, then click onto beat 1 of measure 17 -- paste. MIDI works the same way, btw.
Old 10-07-2002, 06:31 PM

I know what you're saying about grid mode. These tracks I'm working on were recorded in from adat, so there is no PT click to snap to. Will the grid mode still work?
Thanks,
Chas
Old 10-07-2002, 09:08 PM