Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2001, 06:55 PM
elik elik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 76
Default Re: Hello Logic users.......Please explain about Logic Midi

The number of devices you can run; or more specifically the number of midi tracks you can run, is a function of the midi interface you are using. So yes, you can run several midi devices simultaneously in Logic with the right midi interface.

Yes, you can split up the midi onto as many tracks as you like. Kik on one track, hi hat on another, etc.

Yes you can record audio into Logic through the 001 and take advantage of all it's features. Importing the tracks back into PT LE, although doable, isn't quite as elegant. OTOH, depending on your working style, there need not be any compelling reason to use PT LE software at all. Logic performs fine as a front end for the 001. While you can't use RTAS plugins in Logic, you _can_ use VST plugins, as well as Logic's own internal plugins that ship with the program.

Lastly, no; MicroLogic AV does not have all of the midi features that Gold and Platinum have. You can see a featur by feature comparison chart for each version of Logic on Emagic's web site at www.emagic.de



------------------
Eli Krantzberg
Nightshift orchestra
Almat Productions
__________________
Eli Krantzberg
Nightshift orchestra
Almat Productions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2001, 08:21 PM
toecat toecat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: LI NY
Posts: 488
Default Re: Hello Logic users.......Please explain about Logic Midi

Ed,
Thanks for the information. I have read alot of people using Logic with Pro Tools your the first that has made it understandable. I really think the bottom line is getting my music record, it does not matter if it is Pro Tools, Logic or whatever. The right tool for the right job.

Thanks
Toecat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2001, 12:35 AM
toecat toecat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: LI NY
Posts: 488
Default Hello Logic users.......Please explain about Logic Midi

I am starting to find the limits of the Pro Tools Midi. Could anyone who uses Logic explain how the midi is better. I see you get unlimited midi tracks with logic, does that mean you can run two devices or more at the same time(ex. drum Machine and keyboard)?
It would be nice to edit the midi on both up until the final mix. Also can you break down the midi to were you can record on seperate tracks(ex. seperate drum tracks from a drum machine)? Can you record Audio onto Logic thur the Didi hardware and import tracks from Logic to Pro Tools? And last does the Logic AV have the same midi feature as the Gold?

Thanks
Toecat
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone explain the logic in GROUPS? Terry Wetzel Pro Tools 9 10 03-22-2014 02:30 PM
Logic Pro users: Midi & audio between Logic & PT dtmprod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-24-2006 04:16 PM
Any ex Logic users? KimSira Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 26 01-05-2006 02:21 PM
OT: Logic Users... Is logic Pro 6 buggy?? cliepe12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-13-2004 02:19 PM
Logic/001 Users - Do you use Logic only for sequencing? SHC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-07-2001 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com