Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2000, 10:19 AM
Col. Kurtz Col. Kurtz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4
Default ATTO & 001

I have a Digi001 on a G4/500 w/512megs of cas 2 ram, I am wondering if anyone knows of a concise guide to fine tuning the performance of the 001. I also have the stock ATTO SCSI card and the 18 gig drive, using a IDE drive for the OS (Macintosh) Drive. I have read some stuff about the ATTO cards and am wondering if the stock card is capable of the highest performance. I also don't understand how to go about setting the data transfer rate. Thanks in advance for any help on this. Also can ram disk be beneficial in any way?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2000, 01:13 AM
babalkp babalkp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Singapore
Posts: 26
Default Re: ATTO & 001

Hi Kurtz,

Well even i also use the G4 400MHz with 192 RAM only, the system is really fast. I also have the ATTO SCSI card but Single Channel only. My card supports 40MB/sec data transfer rate. But it is Advisable to us set the Transfer Rate to 20MB/sec. Please so Check the www.ATTOTECH.com website for more information and also Digidesign Web site. And regarding the Performance tuning, It is always better to Open few applications when you are using PT LE. Avoid using Shareware appications with reside in your memory. Close all Unwanted Applications. Always do recording on the 18 gig Drive and not on the IDE Mac drive (suggested by Digidesign). Very important thing is that check the ATTO's latest FirmWare and Better Update it First! I think the Version number should be 1.4.x or 1.5.x, I am not very sure, Please check the Web site of ATTO. I am not sure of the RAM disk. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2000, 07:45 PM
ThomCat ThomCat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Phoenix,az,USA
Posts: 475
Default Re: ATTO & 001

Yes, Col. ...Good luck. You may need it. I've tried everything anybody could think of for 3 months now with my brand-new piece-o-**** Atto card, every possible tweak, and nothing will stop the PCI bus errors. It's gotten so bad that I've decided to cut my losses and go IDE. $240 US down the drain, not including the inflated cost of SCSI drives. SCSI used to rule over IDE in the 90's but now it just blows, and in ways too numerous to even count. A word to the wise...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATTO/FUSE HELL!!!??? Freezes, low track count: 5.1/Dual 500/Atto/Magma/Fuse maxx Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-24-2001 11:14 AM
ATTO or FWB? roberts Tips & Tricks 8 03-27-2001 04:20 PM
ATTO vs. Adaptec - which is better and why is atto so expensive?? VanEdge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-24-2001 11:13 PM
FWB or ATTO ? Denis N Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 09-20-2000 08:41 AM
ATTO 1.6.2 Danny Caccavo Storage Subsystems 2 09-12-2000 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com