Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2004, 06:58 AM
RPhilbeck RPhilbeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Default Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

Just got a 002R, and it's perfect for my needs except this latency thing during overdubbing. I'm able to run the buffer as low as 64 samples, and I've got the "Low Latency Monitoring" on, and all plugs off. However, something still aint' right. During the actual overdubbing process I don't hear any latency, so I can play along just fine, but it's when I stop to listen back to my tracks that everything seems to be out of sync.

Is it normal to be able to detect something like this? Maybe I'm just freaking because I've read and heard so much about latency, so I just THINK I'm hearing latency that isn't really there? I've got a Dell Pentium IV with 3Ghz BTW.

I'm going to do an A/B tommorrow with the "outboard mixer" method to see if it resolves the issue, but would like to hear anyone's thoughts on this as well.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2004, 07:20 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

The only way you'll get noticeable latency is if you loaded a plug that produces a high amount of latency. Reverbs or heavy processing ones can do that. So if you track with LLM, then playback with LLM off and some intensive plug-ins, the tracks with those plugs will be out of time. The solution is to either render the effects or just nudge the regions backward.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2004, 07:52 AM
RPhilbeck RPhilbeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

I do not track, or play back with any plugs at this point. Is there a way to measure latency with PT LE?

Thanks,
Robert
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:05 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

Are you tarcking audio only or midi sequences too?
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:06 AM
RPhilbeck RPhilbeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

Audio Only
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:14 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

Try playing to a click track. Just hit the same note at the same time as the click. ( you will need to turn off LLM to use the click). And then judge if its the 002R or the booze.

There is NO noticeable latency at 64 samples. Any latency at higher buffers will lead to, at worst, a phasing effect and higher values to a chorus effect.

Are you recording thru analog or digital.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:26 AM
RPhilbeck RPhilbeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

Actually I use a click right now, but I opened the click track as an audio input instead of the "digi reccomendation" of opening it as an Aux. input. This way I can hear the click during overdubs with "LLM" on. I'll ry it your way though thanks?

I'm not sure what you mean "analog or digital". Obviously my PT setup is digital. I plug into analog pre amps and run those straight into the 002R, and then monitor off the headphone out put on the 002R.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:29 AM
RPhilbeck RPhilbeck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

IS there a way to measure the exact amount of latency? If so I can nudge the track back the exact amount, and A/B to see if I'm crazy or not.

-Robert
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:39 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

record a sine wave, then send it to an analog out, connect that out to an analog in, record on that input, then compare the 2 tracks and measure the latency by setting the ruler to samples and select the difference between the 2 tracks with the I-beam selector and see what it says in the box at the top of the edit window (shows location of beginning and end of selection, and length).
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2004, 08:45 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it\'s Just Me?

Yeah - I mean analog input vs digital input. After its passes the AD its all digital. You can measure samples by zooming in at the sample level and see the offset. Or you can see the start point of two tracks and set the Transport to see samples or min:sec and then see the offset.

The LLM mkethod of inserts on aux may be part of the problem but I'm not sure. I would turn OFF LLM and monitor thru 64 buffer. You should not hear latency at a noticeable level at 64. Now play to the click.

using the click may also be the problem. If your session tempo and click tempo are different, you will be way out. Check in the transport window what the session tempo is and then click the Conductor button ( the harry Potter wannabe) and see what the tempo shows there.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
95 sample latency with 002r jbr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-15-2005 09:38 AM
Is the 002R better for low latency than the Mbox? Rob Ruce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-13-2003 11:07 AM
002R Latency zenbarai 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-26-2003 11:02 PM
midi latency on 002r gizmostatic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 09-18-2003 04:44 AM
Exact Latency in 002/002R The Mink 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-29-2003 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com