Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2009, 05:47 PM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Manual MIDI vs Keyboard Input

This is going to sound like a silly question and probably is. But I'll ask anyways (and yes, I am fairly new at this!) LOL

Anyways......I can get my nano Korg working with redrum no problem. The issue I run across is even if I am just a little off, I still have to go in and adjust the notes. I have also gone in and "penciled" in fills, grooves, etc. in redrum as well as having manually done it in PT.

Is there a better way of doing this? I especially find it really time consuming if I am doing a drum fill. Any tips?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2009, 07:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,391
Default Re: Manual MIDI vs Keyboard Input

Playing drum fills on a keyboard is the pits. I use an M-Audio Trigger Finger and find it works great, especially as it has 5 pages of pad assignments, which means I can devote 1 page to be setup for doing fills by assigning snare and toms to pairs of pads. With 2 pads for each drum sound, you can really play fills 100 times better than trying to whack a single key or pad. Without that, the pencil method will likely get the best results. One thing I have done(with the Trigger Finger) is advance past the end of the song and just record fills(to a click). By recording a bunch of variations, you can copy/paste into the song. Quantize will be your friend no matter what you use. I also have a Roland TD kit but I can play fills on the TF almost as well(except for the kick).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2009, 11:03 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Manual MIDI vs Keyboard Input

If you are talking about the Korg NanoPad, then you can do something similar to what albee is describing on the trigger finger....

There is a configuration editor for the nanopad that you DL from korg and it allows you to assign the notes to the pads as you want, and there are 4 scenes so you can set up 1 scene to have the dual hats or snares or toms, etc...

The editor is caller KORG KONTROL editor...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2009, 11:12 AM
AirborneFO AirborneFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 471
Default Re: Manual MIDI vs Keyboard Input

I brought to Iraq a nano Korg keyboard. I got a brand spankin new Akia MPK49 before I left, so at least it gives me something to look forward to. I kinda figured penciling in track, cut/paste, etc was probably the answer. I have done different fills at the end and am able to tweak a little which does help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Input from keyboard, lag before hearing sound danjfoley Windows 3 01-13-2014 01:55 PM
MIDI input via computer keyboard. vinylrider macOS 1 05-31-2013 07:27 AM
MIDI input via computer keyboard. vinylrider macOS 0 05-31-2013 07:15 AM
Keyboard midi input not recognized rthomas73 MIDI 2 03-31-2011 03:27 PM
Using your computer keyboard as input for MIDI PaulG1522 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-03-2007 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com