Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:47 PM
digiot digiot is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 278
Default Upgrading to PT12HD

About to upgrade a 2013 MacPro running Mavericks and PT11HD with an HDX1 inside a Magma Thunderbolt expansion and an Apogee Symphony I/O.
Do I go all the way up to Sierra and PT12.7.1? Or do I go somewhere in between?
The system is used heavily with VI's. Mostly Kontakt and other NI VI's.
I have been running Sierra and 12.7.1HD on a MacBookPro without much problems but I use VEPro on that to get to my VI's.
VEPro is not an option for the MacPro (composer inability to change workflow)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2017, 10:13 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 392
Default Re: Upgrading to PT12HD

Not to be the bearer of bad news but PT 12 does not perform that well with multiple instances of VI's. Especially NI and especially Kontakt. The usual advice on here is to use VEP. The composer might not like to change workflow but the performance issues and CPU spikes might drive them over the edge.

IIRC 12.4 generally is the most stable.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2017, 10:56 AM
digiot digiot is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 278
Default Re: Upgrading to PT12HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Not to be the bearer of bad news but PT 12 does not perform that well with multiple instances of VI's. Especially NI and especially Kontakt. The usual advice on here is to use VEP. The composer might not like to change workflow but the performance issues and CPU spikes might drive them over the edge.

IIRC 12.4 generally is the most stable.
Unfortunately I don't think 12.4 will run under Sierra. I'll update to Sierra and 12.7.1 and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2017, 04:01 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 392
Default Re: Upgrading to PT12HD

I believe Yosemite is best with 12.4.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt12hd spaceman Buy & Sell 4 12-09-2016 10:18 AM
Upgrade PT12HD mastertstudio Licensing & Accounts 2 03-03-2016 12:33 AM
Where is the Cloud Tab in PT12HD??? Stebass Pro Tools 12 1 12-04-2015 10:57 AM
Upgrading to PT12HD...now what YYR123 Pro Tools 12 4 09-19-2015 06:32 PM
PT12HD - Two questions about upgrading P_J Licensing & Accounts 1 08-29-2015 06:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com