Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2019, 07:30 PM
Gogs Gogs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default Authorization code Pro Tools LE 8 [SOLVED]

Hi,
Does anyone know how I would get an authorization code for a new install of Pro Tools LE 8 ?
I have tried what I have written down but its not working.
Have not had any luck on the Avid site also.
Can I find it somewhere on my iMac with Pro Tools already installed?
Thanks
  #2  
Old 06-01-2019, 07:38 PM
Gogs Gogs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Hi,
Does anyone know how I would get an authorization code for a new install of Pro Tools LE 8 ?
I have tried what I have written down but its not working.
Have not had any luck on the Avid site also.
Can I find it somewhere on my iMac with Pro Tools already installed?
Thanks
__________________
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
MBox 2
iMac12,1 (Mid-2011) 10.6.8 | i5 2.5GHz | 4GB Ram | 500GB
MacBookPro8,3 (Late-2011) 10.6.8 | i7 2.5GHz | 8GB Ram | 250GB SSD

Last edited by Gogs; 06-02-2019 at 12:25 AM.
  #3  
Old 06-01-2019, 07:53 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,270
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

I don't see Pro Tools LE listed in your my.avid.com/products so please check out avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en351651 to see where else your code might be and let us know if that doesn't help.
__________________
  #4  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:05 PM
Gogs Gogs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
I don't see Pro Tools LE listed in your my.avid.com/products so please check out avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en351651 to see where else your code might be and let us know if that doesn't help.
Hi jeffro
How do I add to my.avid.com/products ?
Thanks
__________________
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
MBox 2
iMac12,1 (Mid-2011) 10.6.8 | i5 2.5GHz | 4GB Ram | 500GB
MacBookPro8,3 (Late-2011) 10.6.8 | i7 2.5GHz | 8GB Ram | 250GB SSD

Last edited by Gogs; 06-02-2019 at 12:25 AM.
  #5  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Did you check out avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en351651 to see where else your code might be.

(Jeffro is the person to help you but having the product added to Avid.com is likely to need that, or proof or purchase etc. Or double check you don't have multiple Avid.com accounts with different emails etc.).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-01-2019 at 08:20 PM.
  #6  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:20 PM
Gogs Gogs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Did you check out avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en351651 to see where else your code might be.

(Jeffro is the person to help you but having the product added to Avid.com is likely to need that, or proof or purchase etc. Or double check you don't have multiple Avid.com accounts with different emails etc.).
I bought it second hand many years ago and dont believe I ever had another avid.com account.
Im not sure how to add Pro Tools 8 LE to avid.com
__________________
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
MBox 2
iMac12,1 (Mid-2011) 10.6.8 | i5 2.5GHz | 4GB Ram | 500GB
MacBookPro8,3 (Late-2011) 10.6.8 | i7 2.5GHz | 8GB Ram | 250GB SSD

Last edited by Gogs; 06-02-2019 at 12:24 AM.
  #7  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Oh dear, you may not have purchased any software license. You need to be really careful about buying used software. There is a a transfer of ownership process that may still be available for Pro Tools 8 and old Digidesign hardware... assuming you purchased that all together from a previous owner. Do you remember the seller doing a transfer of ownership paperwork before? I'll get out of this and leave to Jeffro.

But before worrying about that. Is this the best path to go down or should you get on a current version of Pro Tools?

Do you actually have a PC that is capable of Running Pro Tools 8? https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart (I'm hoping you do with the current computer you have).

Why do you want to run such and old DAW? For compatibility with other systems? If you have been running it and are happy then, sure... but to be clear on the
disadvantages...

Pro Tools 8 is a 32-bit program, and so only supports up to 3.5 GB or so application memory... much less memory than Pro Tools 11 and later, and that constrains it for running lots of virtual instruments.

Pro Tools 8 only supports RTAS plugins. Pro Tools started switching to AAX format plugins in Pro Tools 10. If you have Avid or third party plugins you need to make sure they are available in RTAS format (and ideally check they are claimed to run on your OS version and Pro Tools 8).

Pro Tools 8 also cannot import current format sessions from more recent version of Pro Tools (but those users can save sessions in the old format).

Pro Tools 8 also does not have features like ability to work with third party audio interfaces, disk cache, track freeze and commit, has less automation capabilities, etc. (it's hard to remember all the changes).

OTOH if you know your computer runs this now that is great... you might need to upgrade the computer to run Pro Tools 2019.5... which might be a non-starter for you.
  #8  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:44 PM
Gogs Gogs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

I understand all the benefits of newer Pro Tools but PT 8 is fine for me.
I have been running it fine for years on my iMac but just purchased a MacBook Pro 17" and want to run Pro Tools 8 on that.
MacBook Pro has a clean install of Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Any ideas what I can do?
It all worked fine when I installed PT 8 on my iMac years ago.
__________________
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
MBox 2
iMac12,1 (Mid-2011) 10.6.8 | i5 2.5GHz | 4GB Ram | 500GB
MacBookPro8,3 (Late-2011) 10.6.8 | i7 2.5GHz | 8GB Ram | 250GB SSD

Last edited by Gogs; 06-02-2019 at 12:24 AM.
  #9  
Old 06-01-2019, 08:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Well you can run 8.0.5 on Snow Leopard, if you can get it activated, but that's now an Avid support issue. Jeffro will have to work the Avid support angle here with you. He may want you to open a support case, wait to hear from him. I have no idea what proof of eligibility Avid will require.

But I expect the questions they will ask will include have you done everything in the link provided earlier to find the registration you had, and did the previous owner do a transfer of ownership paperwork with you? And again, (especially if stuff was transfered years ago), make sure you don't have multiple Avid accounts under different email addresses.

--

Now if your iMac (do you still have it? or a backup of the boot disk?) is running a version of OS X compatible with your new to you MacBook Pro hardware then you could clone the iMac to the MacBook Pro. For lots of reasons doing a clean install as you already started may be a better way to go but you have to sort the registration issue out with Avid... EDIT: Looks like they are both running 10.6.8 from your signature... I don't know what an iMac Pro is that could run 10.6.8. You signature descitpitons are not that helpful, maybe start with just what model name/number the Macs are. If both computers have Firewire, then it's as simple *in principle* as connect both computers via Firewire with the MacBook Pro in target disk mode and use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone your iMac boot disk to the MacBook Pro boot disk. Lots of instructions on the web for how to do that. Not rocket science but be careful and make sure you have made backups before you start.
  #10  
Old 06-01-2019, 09:04 PM
Gogs Gogs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to get authorization code Pro Tools LE 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
I don't see Pro Tools LE listed in your my.avid.com/products so please check out avid.force.com/pkb/articles/FAQ/en351651 to see where else your code might be and let us know if that doesn't help.
Hi jeffro are you able to help out further?
The activation code sticker is not on the Pro Tools DVD package and I dont have the Getting Started Guide.
I have the yellow card with the Registration ID and Serial Number.
__________________
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
MBox 2
iMac12,1 (Mid-2011) 10.6.8 | i5 2.5GHz | 4GB Ram | 500GB
MacBookPro8,3 (Late-2011) 10.6.8 | i7 2.5GHz | 8GB Ram | 250GB SSD

Last edited by Gogs; 06-02-2019 at 12:24 AM.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Authorization code for Pro Tools 8 Le Tommi70 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-11-2015 06:32 AM
Authorization code for pro tools 7.4.2 therover8909 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-07-2009 01:13 AM
Authorization Code Pro Tools LE 7.1.3 - Help lguterres 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-29-2008 11:35 AM
Pro Tools 5.3.3 Authorization Code VOTalent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-15-2008 08:27 PM
i need help with my pro tools 7le authorization code code NDepthProductions Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 03-14-2008 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com