Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:25 PM
tronnyjenkins tronnyjenkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dallas
Posts: 18
Default Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Coming from a rock solid (for the most part) PT 10 HD rig on Snow Leopard, so far I am not impressed with how finicky Ultimate is. Sometimes it's just a little laggy feeling, like my cursor isn't keeping up with my mouse. Other times it's 9093 errors with an embarrassingly small amount of plugins in place.

Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 12 core
SSD system drive
7200 1tb session drives
HD Native card
HD IO
Dual Slate Raven, but half the time we don't even have the Raven software running when this is happening


What is the ideal way to set up recording playback engine vs mixing engine? None of the tricks I used to use for 10 seem to work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:53 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 669
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Ultimate and even later versions of OSX run quite a bit differently to HD10 and Snow Leopard. What versions are you running now? And how much ram does your system have? Upping the ram to 64gig in my old 5,1 Mac Pro made a huge difference in response and snappiness.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD

Last edited by LDS; 10-23-2019 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2019, 04:39 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tronnyjenkins View Post
Coming from a rock solid (for the most part) PT 10 HD rig on Snow Leopard, so far I am not impressed with how finicky Ultimate is. Sometimes it's just a little laggy feeling, like my cursor isn't keeping up with my mouse. Other times it's 9093 errors with an embarrassingly small amount of plugins in place.

Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 12 core
SSD system drive
7200 1tb session drives
HD Native card
HD IO
Dual Slate Raven, but half the time we don't even have the Raven software running when this is happening


What is the ideal way to set up recording playback engine vs mixing engine? None of the tricks I used to use for 10 seem to work.
I'm running a virtually identical computer with an HDX card with the specs in my sig. For the most part it's the first system since PT10 that works "almost" as smoothly.

I don't do any recording on this system but I always max out the hardware buffer to 1024. The other tip is to use the Disk Playback Cache Size as intended. Max sure you have plenty of physical RAM and I set the Cache Size at 10GB. It should be reading in the green in the System Usage window after one pass through the session.

The screenshot I have attached is a moderately sized session playing back and the Mac Pro is barely registering on the CPU and Disk meters.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-10-23 at 6.30.52 PM.jpg (35.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-10-23 at 6.29.23 PM.png (43.2 KB, 0 views)
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2019, 07:14 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 80
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

I recently discovered this video, and it's helped me understand some of my issues. Similar machine to you, but likely not the same

CPU vs Real-Time Performance in DAWs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2019, 04:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,763
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tronnyjenkins View Post
Coming from a rock solid (for the most part) PT 10 HD rig on Snow Leopard, so far I am not impressed with how finicky Ultimate is. Sometimes it's just a little laggy feeling, like my cursor isn't keeping up with my mouse. Other times it's 9093 errors with an embarrassingly small amount of plugins in place.

Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 12 core
SSD system drive
7200 1tb session drives
HD Native card
HD IO
Dual Slate Raven, but half the time we don't even have the Raven software running when this is happening


What is the ideal way to set up recording playback engine vs mixing engine? None of the tricks I used to use for 10 seem to work.
What OSX version are you running?
Video card? If you're running Mojave you need a Metal compatible card and the stock card in a 5,1 doesn't support Metal.
How much ram?
Any wireless other than mouse/keyboard?
Is your system ssd on a pcie card or in one of the drive bays?
There's only one buffer to set in PT now unlike in PT 10 - the record buffer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2019, 05:21 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
What OSX version are you running?
Video card? If you're running Mojave you need a Metal compatible card and the stock card in a 5,1 doesn't support Metal.
How much ram?
Any wireless other than mouse/keyboard?
Is your system ssd on a pcie card or in one of the drive bays?
There's only one buffer to set in PT now unlike in PT 10 - the record buffer.
All great points. The Video card may be the issue even it you're still on High Sierra. The stock Mac Pro 5,1 video card was getting really laggy for me from Pro Tools 11 on. I replaced mine long before I went to Mojave.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2019, 08:04 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 669
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
All great points. The Video card may be the issue even it you're still on High Sierra. The stock Mac Pro 5,1 video card was getting really laggy for me from Pro Tools 11 on. I replaced mine long before I went to Mojave.
And even beyond that, I had a lot of weird power consumption related issues with my 5,1 Mac Pro. The responsiveness of my apple wireless mouse was the first thing to go. One of the solutions was to unload all of the USB peripherals I had onto a decent TP-link powered USB hub.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2019, 08:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I had a lot of weird power consumption related issues with my 5,1 Mac Pro
First time I hear about this. I have a 4,1 live rig and never had a problem with power... maybe they have done something between 4,1 and 5,1 design?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2019, 08:43 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
First time I hear about this. I have a 4,1 live rig and never had a problem with power... maybe they have done something between 4,1 and 5,1 design?
No USB power issues here on my 5,1. I run two iloks on the front port. An Akai MPK mini, my data cable to the battery backup and an Apple Cinema display on the three in the rear. Off the Apple Display, A Blue Snow Ball (for video conferencing), a Kensington Trackball and an EditorKeys backlit keyboard.

On the PCI internal bus, I've got the HDX card, a UAD Octo card, an SSD on a PCIe card and a 7970 GPU that takes two power cords. Three of the 4 bays have standard drives in them in addition to the SSD on the PCIe card.

I also have 3.46GHz 12 core CPUs, so I'm beating on the power supply pretty hard.

I did have the power supply go out about a year ago and I replaced it with a rebuilt one. No issues since. The symptoms of that are having to press the start button multiple times when turning the computer on then finally it won't start at all. I still have the old one and will repair it for a spare. It's a common problem with these 10 year old power supplies. There are a couple of know solders that break loose.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2019, 11:39 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,763
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

And let's not forget about the dust bunnies that can collect inside a cheesegrater and clog up the airways.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Control Remote Gain fine tuning SteveRada Artist Series 0 10-20-2016 06:00 AM
Fine tuning Trim Automation-Question Xcurve Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 2 03-17-2016 10:32 PM
Fine tuning track volume knobs? timcrow420 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 02-24-2012 07:01 PM
Dual Monitors, nVidia, fine tuning help Chris Shaeffer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-05-2003 11:59 PM
OT- Fine Tuning Powered Monitors: Question… dkrz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-10-2003 03:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com