Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2019, 11:33 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,245
Default Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

Sorry to post another Antares question....this new licensing thing has me curious...

We saw Avid label everything as perpetual and then steer everything toward a subscription. Auto Tune has always been ilok auth. Now they are doing computer based licensing and have labeled their license as a "perpetual license" in their new management app. Are we headed down the subscription road with Antares too? I just can't see paying monthly to rent software. If you could always access your past projects, but not new ones that might be different. But, if you don't pay monthly, everything you have (past and present) is disabled.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg antares.jpg (23.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2019, 05:54 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

Have to dig deeper it seems. I for one will not be happy if they dropped iLok licensing. Might be the last Antares software I ever bought/updated if that was true.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2019, 06:18 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

They definitely dropped ilok licensing for Auto-Tune. Avox still utilizes the ilok for authorization. I created a support ticket with Antares because of an issue with the installation. The code meter software that they use to authorize it now installs a system extension by default. My rig was totally stable before their update. It completely destroyed my computer to the point that it would not boot and I had to reformat. After hearing from Antares tech support, they advised to install it without the system extension checked. I attempted it again tonight and it seems to have gone okay so far. Not impressed though.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2019, 06:25 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

I guess it is bye-bye Antares for me then. Anyone wanna buy AT 9 pro license? Comes bundled with AT8, AT7, and AT6 licenses. I will throw in AVOX choir/duo/throat just to get rid of the company. In case someone is interested feel free to PM me your offer. iLok transfer fee on buyer. Will also edit my antarestech.com account so buyer has total control, as in also the shiny new non-ilok authorizer for AT9
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2019, 04:42 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

To be fair, I don't know that they're headed toward the subscription thing, but it seems like a very similar road to what Avid has done/is doing.

What do you use for pitch correction? I've been looking at alternatives. I've heard Melodyne is great but $800 seems ridiculous no more than I would use it. I have revoice pro; as good as it is, tuning a whole vocal track gets hairy the farther you get. It's great for spot corrections.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8

Last edited by jre3132; 11-27-2019 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2019, 01:58 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,213
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

Melodyne is the best, sound quality wise. Not the easiest "auto" tune but simply best end result
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2019, 07:05 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

I don't actually "auto" tune anything. I've always use the graph feature. I'm not writing them off completely but this hard drive authorization thing and having to completely wipe my system has me on the fence. If they do go with the subscription I'll be completely out. I bought Melodyne tonight since Sweetwater had such good pricing. I'll start playing around with it and see what happens. Thanks for all the information!
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2019, 08:38 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,074
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

Just installed EFX+ tonight on all our Trashcans and on my private i9 MBP and went super easy so I dont get what the issue is? EFX+ is soo easy to use as we do Melodyne 4 most of the time so our AT9 Pro licenses are just sitting there. $199 for EFX+ was a bargain as it is more than enough for what we need. Dont work with artists who need heavy autotune and if any of our songs require pitch touchups we do that in melodyne as it sounds soo much better.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2019, 08:46 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Antares Auto Tune Pro Subscription??

According to Antares tech support, the Kernel Extension should not be installed. They said that the KEXT was not checked by default during the install of the codemeter software. Both times that I installed it, the 3G KEXT was unchecked, but the 5G KEXT was checked. The kernel extension's description says something about if it's enabled, it allows the codemeter software to lock the hardware for updates. Now that I've installed it with both unchecked I haven't had a issue. The screenshot is from my rig the way it comes up by default.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20191128_102755.jpg (40.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
antares auto tune Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-01-2005 04:42 PM
Antares Auto Tune richsorr General Discussion 5 02-19-2004 05:56 PM
ANTARES AUTO TUNE 3 STUDIO A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-10-2004 03:17 PM
Using Antares Auto tune tonyharp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-07-2001 01:01 AM
antares auto-tune need help vince v 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-03-2000 08:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com