Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2019, 04:35 AM
Ravenswood Ravenswood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Posts: 6
Default PT won't record with 2018.12 and Mojave

OK, so had to buy a new MacMini as due to wonderful Apple my MacBook Pro isn't up-gradable (RAM)!! a

Anyway just bought a new UAD Apollo x8P and when I arm and record there's no signal shown (not input monitoring as I have disabled it), then when I press play no signal is recorded.

If I create an Instrument track and put together a drum track in say EZDrummer, this is played through the UAD with no problems.

To save confusion, yes I'm recording on an analogue track - not instrument track, my I/O is correctly setup (I deleted the paths and updated from the Apollo) and have followed all instructions for setup. Plus I get sound and signal through the UAD control panel no problem.

I have a feeling it's a compatibility issue, so hopefully 2019 will be released soon.

Kind of frustrating as I want to play with my new UAD :) :)

Anyone else experience the same issues? Any suggestions?

Cheers people :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2019, 04:45 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 230
Default Re: PT won't record with 2018.12 and Mojave

I'm not on Mojave but it sounds like you haven't enabled Pro Tools to 'use' the 'microphone' facilities inside system preferences. Apparantely you have to allow Pro Tools to access any audio hardware.

May be in privacy settings. Have you searched the other threads on here? That's where I read it.

Good luck.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2019, 04:53 AM
Ravenswood Ravenswood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT won't record with 2018.12 and Mojave

HI James

Yes did that already, oddly, Avid gave me a trial license to try with my MacBook Pro which I had already up-graded to Mojave (to add a larger SDD) and it worked fine. Only seems to be an issue with my new MacMini

Cheers for the tip tough :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2019, 05:15 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 230
Default Re: PT won't record with 2018.12 and Mojave

Damn! Sorry, I have no other suggestions.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2019, 05:20 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,549
Default Re: PT won't record with 2018.12 and Mojave

PT, UAD, and Mac mini all good here.
Have you done all of this?

https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/art...atibility-Info
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2019, 06:59 AM
Ravenswood Ravenswood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT won't record with 2018.12 and Mojave

Thanks James and Drew

Yes, feels like I'm doing something silly or missed something basic. I did follow the instructions and gave permission etc but I'll check again - always happy to take advice and look at something I've missed :)

Kind of missing my HD rig, but can't justify HDX these days, but loving the UAD stuff :)

I'll let you know how I get on later.

Cheers

Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and macOS Mojave BillDog793 Pro Tools 2018 121 03-07-2019 05:37 AM
New MacMini(i7), Mojave, PT 2018.12U, HD-Native littlesicily macOS 12 12-26-2018 07:03 PM
PT 2018.7 on MacOS 10.14 Mojave works for me veinticinco Pro Tools 2018 38 12-09-2018 08:35 AM
2018.10 works on MBP i9 with Vega 20 and Mojave DarkandKurious Pro Tools 2018 3 11-27-2018 01:23 PM
Pro Tools 2018 on Mojave does not register any incoming audio anbrecordingsrf@yahoo.com macOS 3 10-29-2018 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com