Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2016, 06:18 PM
Cactus T-Shirt Cactus T-Shirt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2
Default Quickly select all adjacent clips?

Hello all,

I often find myself editing together a drum loop, a vocal phrase, or some length of audio that begins with one clip and (several crossfades later) ends with another. Here is the issue:

It is usually when I am zoomed in all the way on a clip in the center of this "clip phrase" that I need to select the entire length of adjacent clips that, together, constitute this single "phrase" that I am editing. For example, let's say you had the following clips in your Pro Tools session:


(empty Edit Window space)........Clip 1, Clip 2, Clip 3, Clip 4, Clip 5, Clip 6.........(empty Edit Window space)


Let's say that Clips 1-6 constitute a four-second comped Saxophone phrase, where are all six of these clips are connected to one another by crossfades in between them.

Now, let's say that I'm zoomed in on the end of Clip 3, where I'm adjusting the position of a 4 millisecond crossfade between Clip 3 and Clip 4. As I'm editing this crossfade, I feel the need to select Clips 1-6 (i.e. the entire Saxophone phrase), so that I can nudge the entire Sax phrase forward to give it more of a laid back feel. However, I know that after I nudge this saxophone phrase forward, I will again need to tweak the position of this 4 millisecond crossfade that is currently blown up on my screen (so that I can, say, hide the fade behind the attack of the kick drum). This is my problem:

The only way I know how to select all six clips is to zoom all the way back out (losing my place at the high zoom level) until I can see all six of these clips. Then, I have to select Clip 1, hold down shift, and then finally click Clip 6. After I nudge this phrase, I then need to zoom all the way back in and find my place again in order to re-tweak that 4 millisecond crossfade.


This is particularly a headache when the reason that I need to select Clips 1-6 is to reference a value related to these clips as a unit (for example, the length, start, and end times of the Saxophone phrase). In this situation, the values that I need to reference are only displayed in the respective Pro Tools windows while all six of these clips are selected. This is an issue, because, if I need to go back to my previous (high-zoom-level) location in order to use these values, I need to first de-select all six clips (removing from the displays these values that I needed to reference in the first place), forcing me to remember/write down these values while simultaneously trying to find my place at that high zoom level again.

It would be so nice if you were to, say "command click" on any clip, and this would instantly select all adjacent (touching) clips to the left and right of the clip on which you "command clicked". This would save you from having to zoom out and lose your place, and would prevent you from having to remember/write down any values when you have to necessarily de-select al six clips in order to place the locator and zoom back in to search (and search hard!) for the place you just were moments ago.


In my search for a solution, the closest thing that I found is the "shift tab" and "shift option tab" (on Mac), which selects the next/previous region (or section of blank space), respectively. However, this doesn't work for two reasons:

1. Hitting either of these commands moves you to the ending location of your new selection (even with "Link Timeline and Edit Selection" disabled), causing you to lose your place.

2. Using this method requires that you know EXACTLY how many clips are adjacent to one another (as well as which clip you are zoomed in on) in order to confidently hit Shift+Tab and Shift+Option+Tap the exact number of times each, so that you can reference the values you desire in the respective display.


What do you guys think?

Thank you for your help!
__________________
if(Requesting help) {
print "Thank you\n"
}

else if (Contributing info) {
print "Best\n"
}

else {
print "Just FYI, I don't know how to code at all :)"
}

Cactus T-Shirt

Last edited by Cactus T-Shirt; 04-22-2016 at 06:24 PM. Reason: Add text to clarify
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2016, 10:03 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,654
Default Re: Quickly select all adjacent clips?

Well, as you've figured out, there's no way to just select the right-adjacent clips. But a few things that might help:

shift-option-return will select *everything* to the right on the timeline. You can lock regions, so you could for instance place your cursor just past the section your interested in, hit shift-option-return, then lock those clips. Now, when you're working on the area you want you can shift-option-return and everything to the right will be selected, and you can nudge things without affecting the locked clips. Also, clip-groups (option-command-G) can be useful in these kinds of situations.

Hope that helps,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2016, 11:08 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,171
Default Re: Quickly select all adjacent clips?

Why don't you put a Marker at the spot you're zoomed into, set the Marker to remember the Zoom level and recall the Marker?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select multiple Clips with CMD key not working ptr22 Pro Tools 11 13 11-12-2015 02:39 PM
Select unused clips - Key command not working? ronwasserman Pro Tools 11 5 06-22-2013 12:48 AM
PT10 (HD?) BUG: Select Unused Clips Bassturbator Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 11:52 PM
When I select a region adjacent regions are also! potex Tips & Tricks 2 12-27-2006 12:12 PM
Quickly Organizing Clips introvert Tips & Tricks 0 05-04-2005 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com