Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2012, 07:52 AM
Erik318 Erik318 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Unhappy Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Hi!

After installing the 10.1.2 upgrade I started getting these error messages while bouncing. "Bounce handler could not keep up". This has never ever happened to me before, everything was fine on 10.0.1 (and I'm only running a a couple of tracks in the session with a few plugins). Now everytime I bounce to disk I have to keep my fingers crossed to get through the whole song... Anyone else having this issue?

I'll probably go back to 10.0.1, but I wanted to report the problem so that it hopefully will be fixed in the next release.

I'm on Windows 7 by the way, Mbox 2, and I have two WD Caviar Black hard drives (one dedicated for audio)
/ Erik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2012, 09:48 AM
19 frets 19 frets is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 172
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

I am having the same issue on 10.1.2. Just a simple stereo track with two inserts, Avid Air StereoWidth and Avid Channel Strip. I read of several others (mostly Mac users) having this problem and several suggestions for a fix.

One was to increase hardware buffer size. I tried this on my RME FF800 and it did not solve the problem.

Another suggestion was to try bouncing to the internal disk the OS and PT are running on instead of my external disk where the projects are stored. This second suggestion, while contrary to the recommended approach, has solved the problem for me for now.

Another suggestion I read is that it may be a problem with the new Channel Strip. I have not had time to test this theory yet.

A fourth suggestion is to not bounce to disk, but to route everything to an Aux and record a new stereo track. I am not exactly sure what this involves or how it might help and will have to look into this in more detail when I have time.

I had a short deadline on this project and just had to find a way to get the product out in time. Now I should have some time to go back and experiment some more.

Just FYI. I am running PT 10.1.2 native on Win 7 x64 on an Asus Z68 mobo; i7 2600k 3.4 Ghz; 16 GB ram; internal 7200 rpm SATA drive; external USB 2.0 7200 rpm SATA drive; RME FF800.

I have not had any previous buffering issues on any version of PT 9.x or on PT 10.0 or 10.0.1.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:02 PM
19 frets 19 frets is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 172
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Tonight I tried a test of removing both the Channel Strip and the StereoWidth plug-ins and I still get the problem. May have to drop back to an earlier version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2012, 01:24 AM
Erik318 Erik318 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Hi!

Thank you for your reply. I'll try these suggestions and see if anything helps.

Changing the buffer size has not helped however, and it's a bit of a pain since Pro Tools crashes more often then not when doing this (another issue).

Quote:
Another suggestion I read is that it may be a problem with the new Channel Strip. I have not had time to test this theory yet.
I'm not using the channel strip plugin at all in my session, so I doubt that this is the cause. In my session I have mostly Waves plugins, the HLS Channel, PIE comp and Kramer Master Tape. But it seems to happen even with no plugins as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2012, 05:21 AM
19 frets 19 frets is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 172
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Just as a follow up. I have tried a few tests but still unable to find a resolution other than directing the output to the same drive that the OS and PT are installed on. Which goes against the AVID recommendations and most surely will cause problems with a larger project down the road. Just FYI.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:56 AM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Did you try defragmenting the external drive?
DON'T do this with PT open!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:17 AM
19 frets 19 frets is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 172
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

I usually keep my drives maintanined regularly, but I admit, I don't remember when I last did a defrag on that one. I will check it this weekend. Thanks for the suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2012, 09:27 PM
Moongun73 Moongun73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Same Problem here with 10.1.2 Never had this error with 10.1. I do 4-5 high track count post sessions per week, sometimes more. Always run off the same drive and use the same plugins.

Windows 7
HD Native + Omni
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2012, 04:51 AM
arhall arhall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 91
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik318 View Post
Hi!

After installing the 10.1.2 upgrade I started getting these error messages while bouncing. "Bounce handler could not keep up". This has never ever happened to me before, everything was fine on 10.0.1 (and I'm only running a a couple of tracks in the session with a few plugins). Now everytime I bounce to disk I have to keep my fingers crossed to get through the whole song... Anyone else having this issue?

/ Erik
Same same.
According to the 10.1.2 release documentation it is a known issue.
Avid suggest to aux / record to new tracks.
Erik, no offense but you are sure it started with 10.1.12? I thinking about downgrade to 10.0.1.

Cheers
__________________
Intel i7 2600K, z68 with iGPU, 8Gb, Win7 64, PT11.
TC Impact Twin.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2012, 05:49 AM
Erik318 Erik318 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 48
Default Re: Problem after upgrading to 10.1.2: "Bounce handler could not keep up"

Quote:
Originally Posted by arhall View Post
Same same.
Erik, no offense but you are sure it started with 10.1.12? I thinking about downgrade to 10.0.1.

Cheers
Hi! I downgraded to 10.0.1 a few weeks ago and I haven't had the problem anymore since then. 10.1.2 was very unstable for me, I got crashes when changing buffer sizes (described here: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=321626) as well as this issue when bouncing to disk. Going back to 10.0.1 fixed both of these issues for me, so I'm sticking with it until Avid releases a new update that addresses these issues.

/ Erik
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workaround for "Bounce to QT" Problem in 9.0.2 Danny Caccavo Post - Surround - Video 13 12-06-2011 07:22 AM
"bounce to disk" stutter problem calden Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 07-06-2003 05:42 PM
"Bounce Handler Can't Keep Up"????? Animal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 04-29-2003 12:46 PM
"Bounce Handler can't keep up"?? Jerry Halatyn Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-07-2003 08:53 PM
"bounce handler cannot keep up" sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-21-2001 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com