Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2012, 06:49 PM
rockguitarist1255 rockguitarist1255 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 182
Default Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

Okay so I bought an Editors Keys sl300 condenser USB mic for vocals with Pro Tools. I plugged it in, and expected to see it as an input on a mono track. That was not the case. Since I use my mbox 3rd gen to monitor my tracks through studio monitors, the only input shown were audio 1 and audio 2, both on the mbox.

I then contacted Editors Keys customer service, and the lady gave me a download link for asio4all. I installed that. and selected the playback engine as asio4all, instead of mbox. Although that allowed me to see the mic working on audio 1 input, I couldn't monitor the track or hear anything from it. I'm guessing it's because I didn't have the mbox as the playback engine, but without the mbox as the playback engine, I can't hear anything, but if I have the mbox, I can monitor but then I can't use my USB mic. The manufactures are positive that it works with Pro Tools, si I'm very confused at what I'm doing wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2012, 08:09 PM
TimothyJohn TimothyJohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, United States
Posts: 221
Default Re: Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

I think Pro Tools doesn't like interfaces that don't include both input and output. On Russ Hughes' site, if you check this link of compatible interfaces, I think you'll find few, if any that don't have audio in and out. http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro-...dware-checker/

I know it's a shame, because there are a few usb mics i wouldn't mind trying when I'm going portable. So far, the Apogee One seems to be the only interface with a built in mic, and the MOTU Microbook II seems the second-most portable--small, but no built-in mic.

As it stands now, for portable recording, I'll use my Zoom H2 and bring in the wav files to Audacity and trim them up, maybe normalize, then import them into Pro Tools. If I'm able, I'll just bring them straight into Pro Tools.

But Pro Tools and the H2 don't interface well at all, and I can't use the H2 as an audio interface. I think there would be a market for an Apogee One type device--only at least 2 simultaneous ins and 4 outs. I've heard great things about its built-in mic. If you could combine the Microbook II's features with the Apogee condenser and converters, I think you'd have a portable dream setup.

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:34 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

In the ASIO4ALL control panel you can config/enable/disable multiple devices. When you select the advanced view (click on the wrench) you can click the icon/arrow thingys to the right of the device I/O to enable/disable it. So if you have multiple devices with ASIO drivers you should be able to select the USB Mic input along with the MBox output.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimothyJohn View Post
But Pro Tools and the H2 don't interface well at all, and I can't use the H2 as an audio interface.
Tim
In this case you select the H2 as input and the onboard speakers as output (deselect what you don't want) in the ASIO4ALL control panel - look here: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...light=asio4all

If you don't have the Windows/ASIO drivers for the H2, you can download them from the Zoom site. They've been updated a couple of times.
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2012, 10:01 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

You also need to tell Pro Tools what interface to use by either-go to Setup>Hardware and choose the USB/ASIO device, or-hold the N key while opening Pro Tools to get that choice during the software boot. As long as the Mbox is connected, or was the last choice, it will likely default to the Mbox.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:08 PM
rockguitarist1255 rockguitarist1255 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 182
Default Re: Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
In the ASIO4ALL control panel you can config/enable/disable multiple devices. When you select the advanced view (click on the wrench) you can click the icon/arrow thingys to the right of the device I/O to enable/disable it. So if you have multiple devices with ASIO drivers you should be able to select the USB Mic input along with the MBox output.




In this case you select the H2 as input and the onboard speakers as output (deselect what you don't want) in the ASIO4ALL control panel - look here: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...light=asio4all

If you don't have the Windows/ASIO drivers for the H2, you can download them from the Zoom site. They've been updated a couple of times.
Okay I got the mic working, by selecting the ASIO thing to enable both the USB mic and the Mbox. The problem however, is when I record with the microphone, I am getting delay between my voice and the monitoring of it through my headphones when playing back, and the mic will cut out every few seconds or so for just a second then I can hear sound again. I have the same set up as my Mbox to 128 samples. So is there a way to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:33 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

Everything depends on drivers, cpu power, etc. - the ASIO stuff is all over the map. You're getting buffer delay issues, so try changing those. One thing I never quite understood was that you can adjust the ASIO4ALL buffer independently of the PT buffer setting.
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2013, 03:09 PM
Kidd Obey Arce Kidd Obey Arce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Graham
Posts: 2
Default Re: Help needed using USB mic with Pro Tools and ASIO4all

I had trouble with this too so i found out myself how to and i made a tutorial so check it out and you will be good.! i have a yeti usb mic to work on pro tools 10 HD http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_7mS...ature=youtu.be
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Sound Pro Tools HP Laptop asio4all malmalibu Windows 14 11-25-2013 05:47 PM
Pro Tools 10 asio4all HP Pavilion no sound malmalibu Pro Tools 10 1 08-29-2013 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 10 asio4all no audio malmalibu Windows 3 08-29-2013 07:19 PM
Pro Tools 10 & ASIO4ALL on a Mac running Windows aj88keys Pro Tools 10 1 01-09-2012 02:39 AM
ASIO4ALL and Pro Tools? Diesel1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-12-2005 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com