Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2011, 09:34 AM
VOX59 VOX59 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 7
Default 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Hey there,

I noticed something strange in 11Rack (maybe after installing the Expansion Pack): when I set the expression pedal to wah it is responding very slow...there is a noticable latency in the sound coming AFTER the movement. I didn't notice it before and I have recorded using the wah function...tried different cables and different volume pedals as expression - same thing. Anyone else noticed that?

Another thing: I used the multiple efx feature on a patch changing the pre-amp and master volume, treble and bass settings on a lead800 model. So far that works as intended. Now I wanted to do the same with a Plexi model - but the menu lets me only choose these parameters as targets:

volume, treble, mid, bass, speed (?), intensity (?), gate, release, and output.

This applies to ALL plexis and the jtm. There is no "high gain" and "Normal" volume like in the front panel...speed and intensity like what? tremelo?

I'm quite puzzled...anyone else noticed that?

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2011, 11:54 AM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Does it behave the same way without the connection to your computer?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2011, 01:39 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX59 View Post
Hey there,

I noticed something strange in 11Rack (maybe after installing the Expansion Pack): when I set the expression pedal to wah it is responding very slow...
Anyone else noticed that?
Not here. I've never noticed a problem using the wah. And I only started using a MIDI controller after installing the ERXP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX59 View Post
Another thing: I used the multiple efx feature on a patch changing the pre-amp and master volume, treble and bass settings on a lead800 model. So far that works as intended. Now I wanted to do the same with a Plexi model - but the menu lets me only choose these parameters as targets:

volume, treble, mid, bass, speed (?), intensity (?), gate, release, and output.

This applies to ALL plexis and the jtm. There is no "high gain" and "Normal" volume like in the front panel...speed and intensity like what? tremelo?

I'm quite puzzled...anyone else noticed that?
I just checked that out using the PT editor and I've got the following controls after Selecting the amp the the Amp/FX drop down combo box:
  • Gain1
  • Gain2
  • Bass
  • Mid
  • Treble
  • Presence
  • Master
  • Speed
  • Depth
  • Gate
  • Release
  • Output
There is no volume control available selecting the Amp control as that is its own separate selection in the drop down combo box.

But I could access all the controls on the front of the '69 Plexi amp. Not all at once mind, as there are only 4 slots in MultiFX - but they are all accessible .

Gain1 controls the Hi-gain (Volume1) on the front Panel of the Plexi.
Gain2 controls the Normal (Volume2) on the front Panel of the Plexi.

Cheers,
V.
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2011, 08:13 PM
aaron.ferrer aaron.ferrer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Guam
Posts: 91
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Did you calibrate the expression pedal?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2011, 10:45 PM
jesling jesling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 41
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

After installing the Expansion Pack you need to go back into User Options and set the Pedal Type to work correctly with your expression pedal.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2011, 06:12 AM
VOX59 VOX59 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 7
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

hey there,

thanks for your replies and input on that subject...

Quote:
After installing the Expansion Pack you need to go back into User Options and set the Pedal Type to work correctly with your expression pedal.
Quote:
Did you calibrate the expression pedal?
yes - I did that. In fact several times and every time I tried a different pedal.

Quote:
Does it behave the same way without the connection to your computer?
Yes - same behavior no matter if connected to computer or not. The wah (or any other effect) is slightly delayed to the actual movement of the pedal.

The other issue: Tried it standalone this time and "Vol1" and "Vol2" are indeed accessible from inside the 11Racks own menu...but not from the GUI in ProTools.

But actually after a restart of Pro Tools now I have Vol1 and Vol2 showing up in the GUI menu as well - now speed and intensity are gone (on the plexiglas model).

I'm still on Protools 8.0.4 - 11R Firmware is the latest though...maybe some kind of booting or start-up order kind of thing.

Another oddity: I can't get the tremolo to work on my own presets (using the AC30 or Fender models). On the factory patches tremelo works fine though...

This is really weird...I have been using the 11Rack for quite a while now without such issues and I am no beginner to daw recording - that's why I am really really puzzled.



Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2011, 12:34 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX59 View Post
The other issue: Tried it standalone this time and "Vol1" and "Vol2" are indeed accessible from inside the 11Racks own menu...but not from the GUI in ProTools.

But actually after a restart of Pro Tools now I have Vol1 and Vol2 showing up in the GUI menu as well - now speed and intensity are gone (on the plexiglas model).
You are getting completely different results from me with your PT GUI. Vol1/Vol2 do not show up and all in the Amp selection and am extremely surprised that they turned up in there for you . Can some other users please chip in here saying what turns up in your PT GUI when trying to set your Multi-FX?

Below is a screenshot of the PT GUI that I have on my computer setting Multi FX to work with the Vol1/Vol2 controls on the Plexi front panel - but, from what I've read you are getting different results, well, you must be if Vol1/Vol2 are turning up in the drop down combo. So I'm completely bamboolzed.
Now seeing as my GUI has different results to yours I will just re-iterate that:

Gain 1 works for "Vol1"
Gain 2 works for "Vol2"

So people aren't wondering what the frak I am talking about.

Sorry I couldn't help you with this - I really thought I could, perhaps the 11R resident expert will be able to help - Obi Wan Benoni .
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2011, 03:15 PM
VOX59 VOX59 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 7
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Hey Vercingetorix,

here are 2 snapshots of my GUI:

showing the incorrect (and inaccessible parameters on a plexi):

ScreenshotGUI-Plexi

showing the correct parameters labeled volume 1 and volume too (on a J45).

ScreenshotGUI-JTM

I made both screenshots from the same Protools session - that means, the correct AND the incorrect parameters show up in the same session (on different amp models though).

From the Menu on the 11Rack itself I can make every setting work - it's only the GUI that is behaving strangely.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2011, 07:18 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX59 View Post
Hey Vercingetorix,

here are 2 snapshots of my GUI:

showing the incorrect (and inaccessible parameters on a plexi):

ScreenshotGUI-Plexi

showing the correct parameters labeled volume 1 and volume too (on a J45).

ScreenshotGUI-JTM

I made both screenshots from the same Protools session - that means, the correct AND the incorrect parameters show up in the same session (on different amp models though).

From the Menu on the 11Rack itself I can make every setting work - it's only the GUI that is behaving strangely.
Sorry, I have been extremely busy with Martial Arts for over 2 weeks, I really haven't had any time to myself for guitaring - and I really should've turned up today to watch the young-uns do their grading .

But that screenshot you made with Amp controls has a number of options missing, plus an option that I don't have "intensity". The only thing I can put it down to is that there is a difference in GUI's dependant on the OS. Which I find extremely strange. With a product like this we would expect complete uniformity. And different settings showing up for the same thing - well, that's just bleeped.

I'm happy that you where able to hunt down the settings you needed through the 11R window, but, you really shouldn't have to.

Bad form Avid .
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2011, 07:14 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,670
Default Re: 11 Rack & Expression Pedal as Wah and Multiple EFX

Quote:
Originally Posted by VOX59 View Post
I'm still on Protools 8.0.4 - 11R Firmware is the latest though
This may be your problem.

The ERXP (a.k.a. Firmware 2.0/2.0.1) requires PT 8.0.5 and up.

Quote:
Q: Can I install the Eleven Rack Expansion Pack on earlier versions of Pro Tools?


A: As a last resort, yes, but they are not tested, qualified, supported or recommended—there are important additions to Pro Tools which are only available in the latest dot-releases and which are required by ERXP for best performance.

Pro Tools LE 8.0.5, Pro Tools HD 8.1.1 and Pro Tools 9.0.2/9.0.2 HD—all available as free updates for registered Pro Tools users— are the only fully tested and qualified systems for ERXP. Installing ERXP on earlier versions may cause mismatches between the hardware and the Guitar Window. If that occurs, the hardware display is ‘right’...but please do update to avoid this!

Fully qualified Pro Tools systems for ERXP:

Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Intel only, no PPC)
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5

Mac OS X 10.6.6
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
• Pro Tools HD 8.1.1
• Pro Tools 9.0.2/9.0.2 HD.

Windows XPsp3 32-bit
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
• Pro Tools HD 8.1.1

Windows Vista 32-bit
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5

Windows 7 32-bit
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5

Windows 7 64-bit
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
• Pro Tools HD 8.1.1
• Pro Tools 9.0.2/9.0.2 HD

Macintosh PowerPC machines are no longer supported or qualified.

IMPORTANT: Update your Pro Tools system to 8.0.5LE, 8.1.1HD or 9.0.2 prior to running the ERXP Installer. Whichever version of Pro Tools you are running, you must run the ERXP installer LAST, after you have fully updated Pro Tools to the latest supported version.
Eleven Rack Expansion Pack (ERXP) FAQ
The above quote is a bit out of date, as PT 9.0.5 and PT10 are also qualified. but they were not released at the time this was written.


Pro Tools 8.0.5 Downloads and Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roland expression pedal not functioning properly with eleven rack lbar11 Eleven Rack 9 03-16-2017 11:35 AM
Eleven Rack and a BOSS FV-500-L expression Pedal ? ? ? magicaldog Eleven Rack 12 01-15-2014 09:54 AM
Eleven Rack Expression Pedal brianiac5150 Eleven Rack 13 12-10-2011 06:33 AM
Expression pedal with PT8 phiffdawg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-03-2011 09:29 AM
Using expression pedal with ProTools phiffdawg MIDI 0 01-19-2011 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com