Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #531  
Old 04-28-2010, 07:08 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,794
Default Re: A.I.R Instrument Expansion Pack Upgrade Pricing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
The chance to set things right.
Yes, that's the reality. Things might have gotten quiet but most haven't forgotten.
Reply With Quote
  #532  
Old 04-29-2010, 02:27 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,986
Default Re: A.I.R Instrument Expansion Pack Upgrade Pricing...

If there is a substantial dot release by summer NAMM with some of the features that have been begged for over the last decade we may pull through.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #533  
Old 05-05-2010, 07:42 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,116
Default Re: A.I.R Instrument Expansion Pack Upgrade Pricing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by L-Rey View Post
Just curious. Who else on here is still holding-out on buying the upgrade to the expansion pack?
I am holding out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by L-Rey View Post
I, for one, will not spend a penny more until Avid fix the current ridiculous pricing scheme to upgrade. All I want is a points system where the more registered VI's you own, the more of a discount you're given. It would be very easy to implement. If it means that Avid were never to adjust it, then that just means I won't be purchasing their expansion pack ever. I will just invest my money to comparable software companies(such as native instruments) where the price to upgrade is more fair.
Agreed. How can you have an upgrade path and only allow to upgrade from one product in the suite, not multiple products? Avid should have a look around and see how SoundToys, Waves and the like do things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by L-Rey View Post
Would it be my loss or Avid's loss?
If more people, like me, do not purchase the upgrade.. I'd lean more towards the latter.
Avid are losing out right now. I assume they think by only allowing to upgrade from one instrument the will make more $$$ than those of us with more who are holding off.

Regards,
Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #534  
Old 05-05-2010, 09:58 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: A.I.R Instrument Expansion Pack Upgrade Pricing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
I stopped buying from them. .....
Anything else I have bought has been generic in the sense that I can use it on PT as well as most other platforms.

I am hopeful about the future of PT.. I just think it's going to take a long time.. If Reaper or Logic really decide to try and bury PT the industry will be better off for it.. avid will either step up or get left behind.. but the quality of product available to the customer will improve regardless.
I don't buy anything AVID for myself, nor do I recommend PT any longer to anybody.

THEY have to restore the confidence!
I don't believe that they see in their corporate ivory tower the amount of damage they have done to their own business.
The loss of customer confidence is about the worst thing that can happen.
(See Toyota)


Quote:
Originally Posted by danander11 View Post
Right now, I can bide my time and wait to see... a luxury that some DUC'ers don't have.

Personally, I hope avid gets it sorted.. and quickly. The time for listening has gone. It's time to act.
+1000
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 12.4, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIR Instrument Expansion Pack 2.0 Upgrade Path (updated) kaiserpathos AAX Plug-ins 188 11-24-2015 10:37 PM
Air instrument expansion pack 2, upgrade worth it? fourthtunz Virtual Instruments 11 12-15-2013 11:07 AM
Instrument Expansion Pack Upgrade Offer Worth It? Chingy Pro Tools 9 11 11-08-2010 05:26 PM
Pro Tools Instrument Expansion Pack: How To Prepare To Upgrade RussUK Virtual Instruments 2 01-19-2010 03:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com