Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:12 AM
NEIGHTD NEIGHTD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Default How do you pan effects?

I've noticed in several posts, people sayin how they pan certain effects to the left or right. Not the sound just the effects. My question is, is this possible in pro tools le and if so how?
__________________
Check us out at
http://pblendrecordsllc.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2005, 11:22 AM
skycraft skycraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Default Re: How do you pan effects?

If you are sending your signal through a send to, say an aux channel, and this aux has an effect on it, you would be able to pan the output of the aux independently from the source signal.

For example you might have vox on track one and use a send to bus signal to an aux. The input of the aux is set to whatever bus you assigned the send to on the vox track. The original vox track and the aux track each have their own pan control. This will allow you to pan the original vox signal hard left and the aux return hard right.

Hope this made sense. Pretty basic really. There are different variations on this with stereo sends and returns, but the principles are the same.

If you insert the effect in the original track, this won't be possible, because there is only one pan control.
__________________
It all clicks and buzzes from over here!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2005, 09:44 AM
NEIGHTD NEIGHTD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 99
Default Re: How do you pan effects?

Thanks that was pretty simple I use aux sends all the time but never thought of using them like that.
__________________
Check us out at
http://pblendrecordsllc.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2005, 12:16 AM
mikenienaber mikenienaber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: How do you pan effects?

hey, to eliminate your source from the aux, don't forget to activate the 'pre'(fader) button
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI EFFECTS (Not Audio Effects) iwalkthruwalls Virtual Instruments 1 08-27-2010 07:56 AM
external analog buss effects buss effects patching bryanbassett Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-07-2004 04:39 PM
Applying effects to vocals: Which effects are key? GapeOne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-05-2003 10:36 AM
External Hardware effects VS plugin RTAS effects boogiewoogie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-19-2003 07:25 PM
guitar effects, tracking guitar effects badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-17-2002 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com